We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird Check-In”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park
Ranked #56 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was a strange check-in experience. First, they had extended the stay of the person in the room that we were assigned to without notifying the front desk. The only rooms available had freshly painted doors with a strong paint odor. The front desk clerk had to personnally go upstairs and try to find an empty room since I had a guarenteed room. She gave me the room with the driest paint. Although we got a room it did smell like paint all night. The room itself was nice. The breakfast was very nice with fried sausage and potatoes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash S, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Michael M,

I am very sorry to hear about your check-in experience and issues with the paint odors. We are currently under renovations and do appreciate your patience with us as we undergo the process. Guest satisfaction is our first priority and I sincerely hope you will give us another chance by visiting us again should you ever come to town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 358 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

The entie double room along with the bathroom was the size of my master bedroom minus my closet and bathroom. The bathroom was so small you could hardly turn around.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaB_NC, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

We have renovated our rooms to give them a nicer, more luxurious feel. Also the rooms on the 3rd floor are much larger than those on 1st and 2nd. Look us up on your next visit to Durham. We love to the opportunity to give you a better impression!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Honestly, I do not usually stay at Quality Inns, but had to work with other family members budgets.
The rooms were fine, minimal amenities, the nice aspect was a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and free wifi. At Hilton's and marriotts you have to pay for wifi.
The hotel is working on some renovations, it is an older hotel, there were no issues with it.
The ample breakfast was included offering hot and cold options and fresh fruit. I was not impressed, but I am a "foodie", other guests were very satisfied with the food.
Regarding cabs, go for one with typical cab markings, the guy driving his van overcharged and just seem to make up prices. The same trip with another cab was $14 vs $20.
Oh, and the hotel worked with us on a group rate, they also sent emails to confirm and before arriving one with suggestions of what to do while in Durham. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jl-ontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaB_NC, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

We have finished with the majority of our renovations since you stayed with us. Our lobby and rooms are gorgeous! Let us know if your group returns to Durham. We would be honored to make your group booking again for 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

After driving all day and on our way home from vacation, my wife and I checked into the Quality Inn, Durham. The first King bed room we had, the air conditioner, was blowing warm air. The second room, the air conditioner was so noisy, even the front desk clerk agreed that she would not want to hear that noise all night. The hotel is under rehab, but the room air conditioners should work when it's 80 degrees outside. To this hotel, I say, "No Thanks"

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash S, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m very sorry to hear that you did not find our accommodations to your satisfaction but I’m glad you brought this issue to our attention. I want to assure you that the air conditioners were fixed in both rooms and all of our units were inspected to prevent this issue from occurring again. We strive for 100% satisfaction and aim to resolve all issues and guest concerns right away. I checked your reservation and I’m happy to see your charges were reversed at the time you checked out. We hope you will consider giving us another chance should you be in town again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here overnight while we attended a reunion. Approx a $10 cab ride onto Duke's West Campus. Clean rooms. Coffee maker, microwave, and mini fridge in the room. Free wifi was offered. No frills at this location but I would stay here again because of the price and location. The desk staff was very friendly and the free breakfast in the morning was pretty tasty with fresh fruit, waffle station, cereal, eggs, sausage, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelsNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaB_NC, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in 2012. We are working hard to make 2014 the best year ever. Many improvements have been made on the building and in the rooms. We still have a few more projects that we are excited about. Stay with us on your next visit to Durham and you will be impressed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I usually like quality inns. This one, not so much. Most rooms are exposed to the outside, but is not a deal breaker. The lobby needed a cleaning. Bad. There was flecks of a pillow fight all over the floor, and it smelled of stale cigarettes. The after hours window was strange. I can't come inside after midnight? They did let me i though. The elevator almost took out luggage, and it smelled too. The upper hallway (the only part with doors on the inside) smelled again. The room was actually mostly clean except the top cover that had something on it. If I wer hsekeeping, I would not put a top cover that had something visable on it. That's just gross. The remote control battery cover had been taped on, but fell of at every touch. The room was $74, and the Hilton was$120. Big difference, but next time, I will pass this one up.

Room Tip: To to the Hilton next door
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catsspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaB_NC, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Oh no! I'm so very sorry for the problems you encountered. Our hotel is newly renovated and we've made many wonderful improvements. I do hope you give us another chance to give you a better impression!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Hallways smelly and carpets nasty. Unsavory characters roaming halls all hours of the night.
Window with double glass completely "fogged" in between panels and unable to see outside. Please see picture.

Breakfast a joke! Watched as attendant heated day old potatoes and day old sausage patties in microwave and put out for guests. Then she prepared fresh product and put on top of old. By "prepared" I mean she microwaved multiple plates of sausage and multiple plates of frozen potatoes on the SAME styrofoam plates then dumping them into the warming dish! Microwaving these plates has been determined a cancer risk when they begin to melt---which these did!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank naivevictim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaB_NC, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

I am so sorry that you had such an experience. We have made many many many changes and I sincerely hope you give us another chance on your next visit to Durham, NC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#43 of 71 in Durham
62 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
1.5 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#40 of 71 in Durham
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park

Address: 3710 Hillsborough Rd, Durham, NC 27705-2906 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: $60 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off I-85 and within minutes of Duke University and Duke Hospital. All of our rooms & Suites include a 32" Flat Screen, Luxury Vanities, Refrigerator, Microwave, and more.Come an enjoy a relaxing swim in our newly reconstructed pool! We also offer a complimentary expanded continental breakfast with hot items in the mornings, business center and 24 hour access to fitness room. Whether you are planning to visit for business or leisure, you will enjoy our signature service and the upscale amenities we have to offer. At Quality Inn & Suites,Durham we always strive to reinvigorate the hotel experience and provide our guests with a home away from home atmosphere, with spacious comfortable suites, featuring all the extras that make a difference when traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Durham
Quality Inn Durham
Durham Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing