We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Serviceable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Durham/University Area NC
Ranked #60 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed May 8, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Zachary L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Durham/University Area NC
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 127 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our recent vacation covered several states, and we booked Super 8 for every city because we have always had good experiences with them. That strategy will likely change now.

This property should NOT be a Super 8 as it is so far below quality standards as to be disgusting. The lobby is almost scary in its decrepit state and the clerk sitting behind bullet-proof glass was our first tip that we had made a bad choice this time.

Despite having clearly requested a 1st floor room, our initial room assignment was on the 2nd floor (stairs only and inaccessible for us). So after much discussion, we were given a 1st floor room which was very under-whelming.

A musty smell, and dark dingy look did little to relieve our concerns. But the beds were clean as was the toilet and tub, so we decided to go ahead and stay since we were only going to be there over night.

There was a serious lack of electrical outlets to plugin laptop and phone chargers, and when we opened the refrigerator a strong smell of urine emanated. (We definitely did not use the refrigerator!)

We went out to dinner, and when we returned, there was a large group of Spanish-speaking young men hanging out on the balcony directly above our room, making comments on visitors cars and what they could see in those cars. My wife definitely did not feel safe during our stay.

We will certainly not stay here again, and if Super 8 is now allowing such low-scale establishments to carry their name, we may have to rethink our choices as to where to stay in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for directions to another hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

So....brought my family here for a week because we needed something decently-priced...ended up getting an upstairs room. Room had to be changed immediately as we requested non-smoking and got smoking. Had to have the fridge replaced because the first one didn't work. Room is spacious, but furniture is sorely outdated. No flat screen TV, beds have no soft and comfy blankets, and our deadbolt was missing! Door didn't fit into jamb correctly, leaving a nice little gap. Holes in carpet, and it felt like you were walking on the nastiest grime on earth. Kept socks on! Housekeeping was very sweet as was the maintenance men. Biggest complaint? The roaches we encountered daily. We kept our room very clean, had housekeeping vacuum and change trash daily, and sprayed our own cleansers daily as well. Will not stay here again, as there are nicer hotels (e.g. Red Roof Inn) just a mile up the street for a few bucks more! Not worth the price for the rooms looking the way they do!!

Room Tip: Simple! Don't stay here!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Arthur L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#43 of 71 in Durham
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
1.4 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#40 of 71 in Durham
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Durham/University Area NC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Durham/University Area NC

Address: 2337 Guess Rd, I-85 Exit #175, Durham, NC 27705-3342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: $50 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Durham/University Area NC 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 Durham/University Area NC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Durham
Super Eight Durham
Durham Super Eight
Durham Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing