We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Customer Service, But Some Cautions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Durham Marriott City Center
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Exceptional Customer Service, But Some Cautions”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

The staff here is remarkably helpful. Two examples. First, on my checkout day I was rushing to leave my suitcase and arrange a taxi so I could get back to my meeting. The bellhop was busy and my frustration must have showed. Somebody stepped out of nowhere to help, took my bag and waited patiently while I fumbled for flight details to figure out taxi timing. Only when we were done did I notice his name tag and realize it was the General Manager himself waiting on me! Second, at the breakfast bar I had asked if they had chocolate milk (for taking medicine). The waiter replied "No, but let me make you some" and he returned shortly with a glass of chocolate milk to go! However I found a few negative items too. The WiFi in rooms is paid-only. No convenience store is in walking distance, making the minimal selection in the hotel's convenience "shop" more noticeable. Finally, in the months prior to my stay I'd tried to contact the sales team by phone but two voicemails were never returned, something so at odds with the level of customer service I received once there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ITBJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind words on our staff service and we would like to apologize for the concerns you mentioned. We will review them with the team for the improvement. We again appreciate your review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    156
    75
    21
    11
See reviews for
72
89
26
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yadkin Valley (North Carolina)
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed 3 nights, 4 days for a professional organization conference. Perfectly located downtown Durham, attached to the Durham Convention Center.

PROS: Central Durham location. Clean rooms and immaculate bathroom. Mini-fridge and coffee maker in room, hotel staff gladly provided additional coffee packets on request. HVAC worked well and was quiet, unlike some window units that tend to keep me awake. Lots of pillows. Fluffy towels and washcloths. Hallways were very clean, though trays from room service stayed in hallways longer than I expected. I was fortunate enough to have an end room with views to the south and west.

SUPER PRO: The front desk staff, valet parking staff, all were very nice and made me feel at home during my stay, greeting me if I'd only stepped out of the lobby for ten minutes.

CONS: Valet parking (with in and out privileges) was pricey at $12/day. Wi-fi was not free for regular guests (thankfully our conference coordinator had negotiated a waiver of the daily fee). Hotel restaurant food was good, but service was marginal.

SUMMARY: This property was selected by conference coordinators, so I did not have a choice on where to stay. Due to valet parking fee and wi-fi fee for regular guests, I would probably look for lodging nearby that offered both in the room rate.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in ..27 are on the southwest corner of the hotel, with views of the sunset and towards...
See more room tips
Green Features: Happy to change linens and towels on a daily basis if requested, but participated in program to use more than one day. (I use my towels and sheets for more than the four days I was there, so requested no room service during my stay)
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to review and give us honest and very thorough feedback. We are excited to see your compliments on our staff service, cleanliness, and value. We also learned that we need to make some improvement in our restaurant from marginal to brilliant service. We again really do appreciate your comments for us to continuously improve and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Location: Right in the middle of downtown Durham, within walking distance to plenty of restaurants, bars, and the Durham Bulls Ballpark.

Hotel Accommodations: Clean, spacious rooms; open lobby with restaurant and bar; completely connected to the Durham Convention Center.

Some of the decorations are a bit dated, but the hotel overall is very nice, and being completely connected to the Convention Center is very convenient.

Staff: Other than an event addressed under "Parking" below, the staff were friendly and courteous, and more than helpful with anything we needed. The always spoke to you, upon entering and exiting the hotel, and were prompt in getting you anything you needed.

Food: I ate breakfast two mornings in the hotel, and it was delicious, a little more expensive than I thought it should have been, but I was happy to pay the price for the convenience. They have a $15.00 whole buffet and a cheaper half buffet as well as individual meals. The sandwiches in the bar area were phenomenal, though the service was a bit slow at times. They had a decent selection of alcohol at the bar, including a varied wine selection.

Room Rates: We received a very nice room rate as part of the hotel/conference package. I would definitely recommend negotiating one for yourself.

Conference Center: The conference center is connected to the hotel via the lobby, and it was perfect for the purpose. Spacious, clean, open, and bright.

Parking: Here's where the fifth star was lost. You can either pay $12.00 per day for valet parking, or you can parking in the parking deck across the street for $3.00 per day if affiliated with an event at the hotel. While there for a recent convention, I parked in the $3.00 per day parking which I was very pleased with. However, another member of our convention paid the $12.00/day to valet park her vehicle, and when it was retrieved for her three days later, it was very evident that someone had attempted to break into her vehicle. There were gouges all along her door frame, and deep scratches where someone used a tool to try and press her automatic unlock buttons. While Durham does have a high(er) crime rate, it wasn't the attempted break-in that resulted in the 4-star rating, it was the way the hotel handled it. No manager was available to assist her, the rest of the staff seemed flustered and unapologetic (completely contrary to how they had been the entire time we had been there, which was very friendly and helpful - see above.) When we left for our evening event, there was still no response from the management, she was told that security had been notified and the police would be there shortly. We informed them that we had called the police and they had been there nearly an hour ago; the staff member then informed us that since the police had been there, the matter had been "handled." The matter may have been better handled at some date after the other conference member and I said our goodbyes later that evening, but having been by her side through the whole process up to our having to leave for the evening event (2 hours after the damage was discovered), I was disappointed at how the hotel staff handled the issue, regardless of the existence of a manager.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDHnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your time and effort to leave us a great review with details. We will share your comments along with the inconvenience that one of your conference members experienced with our team for continuous improvement. Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

The hotel is perfectly-located in downtown Durham. It's very convenient if you're staying in the area.

The room, starting with the very comfortable bed and the spotless bathroom, was great.

The only drawbacks at this hotel are the misleading parking situation and the WiFi (couldn't connect at first then found out you have to pay for it).

I researched parking when booking the room and, although I saw a mention of the valet parking, it wasn't made clear that the hotel didn't actually provide another option. We ended up parking at a city parking deck a block away.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UNCST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying and giving us a nice review. Our Housekeeping team will love to hear about your compliments and I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to parking and valet. We will make sure we provide better communication to our guests. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2014

This Marriott may not be the newest, it certainly has the best staff. I've stayed here several time, originally for its location in downtown Durham but came back because of the staff. I'm sad I didn't get any names so I can give them individual praise but everyone from the valet to the concierge were friendly and helpful each time I have stay. My advise if you do choose to stay here is to valet park as parking in Durham can be a pain.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_great_boos_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your fantastic compliments – Best Staff of any Marriott – Wow, it makes us so proud of what we do here at our hotel for our guests. We will continuously work harder to serve you brilliantly to keep that title you gave us. Please come back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We came to see a show at the durham Performing Arts Center and it was a perfect location. As we did not have a car, we walked all over that area and were so impressed on all the renovation of the tobacco warehouses. The staff was extremely genteel and the hotel was clean. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clotn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your compliments! Durham has lots to offer so please come back to stay with us when you visit here again, we will be waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The south is of course renowned for its overly friendly people and exceptional hospitality but the Durham Marriott City Center takes it to a new high point. Every one I ran into was cheery and helpful. From the bellman who greeted me at the door, to the desk clerks, cleaning staff and restaurant staff. It was noticeably exceptional! The room was a standard Marriott room - a good size, comfortable bed, decent WiFi speeds and close to shopping and restaurants.
This is the place to stay when you are in Durham.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelotts4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,
We are excited to receive your FIVE STARS with big compliments on our staff. Please come back to see us, we will again serve you the BEST. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#25 of 71 in Durham
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#17 of 71 in Durham
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
0.1 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#3 of 71 in Durham
245 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott City Center

Property: Durham Marriott City Center
Address: 201 Foster St, Durham, NC 27701-3211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Durham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#19 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Durham Marriott City Center. Situated downtown, you'll love how the hotel and the city seamlessly blend the modern and the historic. The Durham Marriott City Center is connected to the 44,000 square foot Durham Convention Center and adjacent to the beautifully restored Carolina Theatre. Minutes away from Duke University, Duke Hospitals, and North Carolina Central University, this modern hotel compliments the heritage and classic architecture found throughout the city. Designed for both the business traveler and family vacationer, our comfortable accommodations and outstanding Marriott service ensure a memorable and productive visit. The Durham Marriott City Center is known for its helpful and knowledgeable staff that will ensure you get the most from your stay. Rooms at the hotel include Marriot's luxurious revived bedding package accompanied by high-definition flat screen televisions. Guests on the concierge level enjoy the added benefit of the concierge lounge serving appetizers and snacks Sunday evening through Friday morning. All guests appreciate the state of the art fitness center highlighted by eight units with 17 inch TV screens. Dining options include the 2 zero 1 restaurant with continental American dining and a casual atmosphere. The 2 zero 1 lounge offers nightly specials and a relaxed setting. So what are you waiting for? Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durham Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Marriott City Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing