We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location of all hotels for downtown Durham.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Durham Marriott City Center
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel is located in the middle of Durham which makes it easy for doing things inside of the city as most things are walking adjacent. This was a quick overnight stay, but the staff was more than hospitable with all requests and with recommendations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your compliment about our staff. Please come back and stay little longer next time to really enjoy many great things around us. We will again service you at our best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 426 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

Probably the worst hotel experience I have ever had. There were cockroaches in our room and the staff refused to relocate us to another room, saying that they were fully booked. But when I went online, I was able to reserve a room (leading me to believe they were not fully booked). Never going back here again - there are better hotels in the area at much better prices. Don't be deceived by the decor in the lobby.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Du_Cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear guest,
We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We are very proud of serving our guests with best clean rooms and excellent services but we were so disturbed to hear about your concerns. We could not find any communication about your bad experience so please help us to improve. Please give us a call at my direct line 919-768-6011 to discuss. Then I will follow up personally to make sure we fix our problem immediately and prepare to be the best hotel for you to come back and enjoy. I will be looking forward to your call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I've stayed at this Marriott perhaps a dozen times in the past year or two. It's just fine and there's nothing better in downtown Durham. Durham itself has some charm and this hotel is the best way to experience it. Try some local restaurants and walk around - it's a downtown experiencing a bit of a revival.

Guest rooms - Rooms are fine at this Marriott and definitely meet the standards of the chain. That said, the HVAC noise in some of them is quite loud (rattle), and if you're near the elevators you will hear the whoosh and mechanicals during the night.

Service - Service here is very pleasant, with the staff always willing to help out as much as possible. I tend to stay rather self-sufficient on business trips, so I don't need much, but when I do they are happy to help.

Dining - I've had a few decent meals via room service, but have also had some salads that are wilted or some flavors that are a bit off. But go for it if you're looking to stay inside and relax.

Gym - The workout room is fine for a quick energy burn, but the best thing here is that they issue passes to the YMCA across the street for a much better gym.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevators and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your time and effort to leave us a great review with details. We always love to hear from our guests because you tell us what we could do better to make you happy. I will make sure we continue striving to make it better so you can keep coming back to see us! Thank you again for being our loyal Marriott guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Visited here for New Years Eve with family and friends, room was spotless the staff couldn't do enough to help you. The breakfast selection was vast and Buffett type cereal cold meats cheese cooked breakfast, if you wanted a omelette they took your choice of ingredients and cooked it for you, endless amounts of tea/coffee fruit juice. Thanks for making our New Year special

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Lovefoodcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you!!!
We are so excited to hear such great comments about our service with new year greeting. I will share your compliments with all my staff and wish you, your friends and families a Happy Awesome Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here twice in the past couple years and this Marriott has always been very accommodating between the Platinum upgrades to the impeccable service. We will always stay here when we are in Durham.

Room Tip: Corner high room is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnumgis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for five stars!!! We are happy to hear that you always enjoy staying with us. We will keep working hard to continuously serve you the best. And another big thank you for being our Platinum member!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of many fine Farm to Table restaurants. The ice cream parlor and bakery were closed on the days we visited. I will seek them out on my next visit.

20 minutes by car or 2 buses to/from the Airport. The complimentary Bull City Connector bus is less than 2 blocks away. You may take a ride to Duke University and walk around the campus.

Room Pluses:
The 2 light fixtures located on the desk and side tables had an abundance of AC outlets for electronics
Cubbies for extra towels, etc below the bathroom counter
Grab bar and anti-slip mat in the bathtub/shower A +

Small issues which were rectified:
Paper jam in the Computer Room and the inside door handle fell off. Both situations, Robert came to my rescue. Who said chivalry is dead?

Room Concern:
The maid whom tidied up the room left an overpowering fragrance smell. I have a problem with this as I am allergic to scents. The California hospitals institute a policy: NO lotion, powder, perfume, make-up, oil or deodorants.

Comment:
If the hotel is conserving water in not laundering the towels, please provide more towel bars and hooks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flounder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your time and effort to leave us such nice reviews. We are always excited to hear from our guests because you tell us what we could do better to make you happy. I will make sure we follow up on few items you mentioned to better accommodate you next time. And Robert…. I will definitely let him know about your comment. He will love to hear! Thank you again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here because we were seeing a show at the Performing Arts Center just down the street.

The Pros:
All of the staff we encountered were super polite, and very helpful. Upon checking in, I was greeted by smiling folks behind the counter who made the process easy for me. Also, I ordered room-service and was told it would take 10-15 minutes for the food to arrive. It could not have been even a full 5 minutes and it was there. (Underpromising and overdelivering! Love it!) Finally, the price of this hotel, for the location, was pretty great. We're used to steep hotel prices in the heart of most cities, so we were delighted that this was so affordable.

The Cons:
Parking. Oy. When making the reservation to stay here, I double checked to make sure that complimentary, on-site parking was available. Arriving in Durham, a town with which I am not even remotely familiar, I found the hotel, and then started looking for the on-site parking. After circling the hotel four times (yes, 4), which was not easy, I gave up and pulled into the packed valet space, where the kind gentleman asked for my keys and began unloading my car. I told him I wanted to self-park, but he said he'd take care of my car for free, since I was a female and alone. While I appreciated this (I think?), I really wanted to just take care of my car myself, keep my keys, and unload at my own pace. This was super uncomfortable for me, especially now that the valet folks had my keys, and I'd had no intention of valet parking. Suggestion: just put up a clear sign indicating where folks can self-park, or change the website to state that parking is valet only.
My only other mini-complaint was that anytime someone closed a door in the hallway, the bed in our room shook. Weird. And a bit startling. Every. Time. A door closed.

Other than that, everything was lovely. :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sardawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your compliment about our professional service. But I would like to apologize for not giving you clear communication about our parking service. We will do better next time. As you know Durham has lots to offer including Carolina Theatre, Durham Performing Arts Center, Durham Bulls, and great restaurants… Please come back to see us for your next visit, we will again take great care of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#21 of 71 in Durham
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#25 of 71 in Durham
157 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Unscripted Durham
Unscripted Durham
#20 of 71 in Durham
230 reviews
3 mi away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
3.6 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott City Center

Address: 201 Foster Street, Durham, NC 27701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#19 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $120 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Durham Marriott City Center. Situated in downtown Durham, North Carolina, you'll love how our hotel and the city seamlessly blend the modern and the historic. Durham Marriott City Center is connected to the 44,000 square foot Durham Convention Center and adjacent to the beautifully restored Carolina Theatre. Minutes away from Duke University, Duke Hospitals, and North Carolina Central University, this modern hotel compliments the heritage and classic architecture found throughout the city. Designed for both the business traveler and family vacationer, our comfortable accommodations and outstanding Marriott service ensure a memorable and productive visit. Durham Marriott City Center is known for its helpful and knowledgeable staff that will ensure you get the most from your stay. Rooms at the hotel include Marriott's luxurious revived bedding package accompanied by high-definition flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Durham Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Marriott City Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing