We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place ... Center of Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Durham Marriott City Center
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Place ... Center of Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here a few times when deciding to relocate. This hotel is centrally located. It sits close to the government center and is close to the American Tobacco Campus, the DPAC, and a host of local fare.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeNDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed staying with us. Yes, Durham has lot to offer; Excellent restaurants, DPAC, Baseball, Duke ….. ; with our top Marriott service, you will continuously like it here. Thank you again for keep coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    150
    71
    21
    11
See reviews for
69
84
26
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
707 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 641 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at the Durham Marriott City Center given its close proximity to the Durham Bulls ballpark and free parking. The actual parking lot is across the street, so it is best to drive into the front of the hotel to check in first. While the exterior of the hotel isn't that exciting, I was immediately met by a member of the staff who enquired if I preferred valet or self-parking. Once I mentioned that I would park myself, he instructed me where to park and then proceeded to escort me to the check-in desk. It was nice and refreshing to find an employee who went out of his way to help regardless of who it was (since I had not used the valet or needed luggage assistance). The same individual assisted me throughout my stay, even saying hello in the morning.

The hotel was crowded due to some type of biker convention which wasn't a major issue other than bikers feeling the need to make a lot of noise with their bikes at 3:00 in the morning. However you really didn't notice that many people and with my room towards the end of the hallway, didn't have any problems with noise from within the hotel.

The room itself was big enough and had all of the necessities one would expect. The room included two double beds, flat screen television, a sitting chair and work desk. The refrigerator was located under the TV co-located with the dresser. It was extremely quiet and never even knew it was there until the morning. The bed itself was nice and comfortable. The only issue with the hotel was the pillows. They were comfortable, however 50% of them on one of the beds had dead bugs on them.

The air-conditioner was controlled by a panel on the wall. It was set at 67 degrees which for me was good, but for others might be a little cold. The system worked well and was nice and quiet. This helped make it a good atmosphere to sleep and relax. You can expect for it to be a tad cool in the restaurant, so those who get cold might want to wear long sleeves or a light jacket.

The bathroom had one sink with the toilet located next to the bathtub. There were no hand towels for some reason, but plenty of washcloths and bath towels. I had to use the washcloth to dry my hands. They definitely could improve in this aspect as well. The water pressure in the shower was good and there was plenty of hot water.

I decided to try breakfast at the hotel. They serve breakfast from 6:30 to 10:30am everyday which is nice. Given I was there shortly after they first opened, I was the only one there. You had the option of either the buffet or ordering from the menu. I decided to order the crunchy French toast from the menu. The French toast was topped with fresh bananas and strawberries and had a had a crunchy texture. They provided me with a small jar of maple syrup as well. It would've been nice to actually have warm maple syrup and not some out of an individualized jar. The food, as was the coffee, was very good. The buffet costs $15 and includes coffee and juice. I paid around $11 for my meal, so it was a little cheaper. However it really depends on what you choose.

Overall the Durham Marriott City Center is worth staying at if your looking for a place to stay in downtown Durham. There were only a few minor issues as mentioned, as well as the lack of written notice of the check-out time. I would definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and giving us great feedback. We were excited to read your very thorough comments. I really like to tell you that we certainly appreciate your time and energy to write about us for everyone that meant a lot to us. We will continuously work harder to make it better every day for you and your guests. Thank you so much again. And I will make sure talking to our Housekeeping Department for improvement because we do have hand towels and they are supposed be in every guest room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed a night at the Marriott in Durham to see the city.
We loved the location and our ability to walk to everything downtown including the Durham Bulls baseball stadium.
The lobby was beautiful, the service from the front desk personnel to the parking attendants was great! Everyone was especially helpful.
The room was spacious, clean and modern, extremely comfortable.
We were very impressed with the Marriott and are looking forward to going back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for the Five Star!!!
We are so happy to hear that you really loved staying with us. All my staff will appreciate your compliment about our great and helpful service we offered to you. Please come back to see us, we are here for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was in a good location in Durham. I was in town as part of a wedding in June and the hotel was fully booked. Fairly outdated Marriott and the outside of the building could have used a power wash for sure. Passed on breakfast on Saturday morning and went to the farmers market down the street. Much better deal and much better food! Average of the line Marriott - nothing stood out to me that made it great and nothing stood out to me that made it bad

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us! I will share your comments with our staff and work harder to become better/more than just average Marriott. We are here for you, please let us know if anything you can think of us that would make your stay more enjoyable, we will try to do so at our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I like this place. we go down every year for a film festival. it in the same building as the festival but the last two years we have been unable to walk the hallway into the theaters. Under construction signs but there was a wedding there so I don't understand that! the staff is very friendly. we get a corner king and the view is interesting. bed is fine. this time we asked for a late checkout and the key did not work when we came back. had to go down and get it redone but that is unusual. we will go back next year for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiJ433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for always staying with us! I will share your compliments about friendliness of our staff with everyone and also tell Front Desk about your key problem so you won’t have such concern again. For the hallway to the theatre, I apologize for the inconvenience but I am not able to control the access as Durham Convention Center manages that area. Again, we appreciate your continuous visit and see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Is this a Marriott? What terrible standards. The van drivers look like criminals, every front desk person had a different uniform on. The hotel was outdated. Seemed like I stepped into the late 70's. Box projection TV's in my room. For a hotel that small and with a name like Marriott I would think they would have flat screens in the room. It's clear to me whoever runs this dump is cutting cost. I couldn't even fathom walking into work each day and walking on that hideous carpet. The hotel smelled like a mixture of mold, mildew, cigarette smoke and industrial chemicals. I'm was kind of relieved in the chemical smell. At least they attempted to clean. Then in the morning the wait staffs white shirts were dingy and wrinkled, the server looked like she just rolled out of bed. I couldn't believe this is was an actual Marriott and not a Red Roof Inn. On a brighter note the location was excellent. Only hotel in the downtown area, which I found to be odd. The valet was nice but took forever to get my vehicle. I figured it was in a secure lot or deck somewhere down the street but they park the cars in te same self parking lot across the street. I could have saved $10 a day just by walking 6 steps across the street. Then the pillows in my room were yellow and had a bad odor. I called for another set but it took forever and they were worst than the originals. I literally bought my son pillows for college from Walmart at $5.00 each and were so much more comfortable. They claimed this is non-smoking hotel but my room smelled like a Hookah bar. I asked to move my room and the van driver/ bellman/valet/ front desk agent took forever. I called again and they're we're no bell carts available. Then I finally went downstairs myself and the van driver was in the gift shop reading a paper. When I grabber one of the three luggage carts he asked if I needed assistance. At this point I wanted to scream. Then my new room must have been over a fan or generator because there was constant noise all night. At this point I was not going I move my room again and had to endure it. Overall my experience was a 1 out of 10. I would not recommended this 1 star hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelguy861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. I was so disturbed to hear about your stay. We are here representing Marriott very proudly with our service and products that we offer to our guests. So it was very disappointing to hear that we didn’t attain your 100% satisfaction. We take guest concerns very seriously because you tell us what we are doing great and what we need to improve on. I would really like to ask you to please contact me directly at 919-768-6011 with little more information (I.E; room number, date of stay etc…) because some of the comments you made, such as Van drivers look like criminals (we hire and train great associates and they are all well groomed in uniforms and act professionally to serve our guests), every Front Desk person had a different uniform (All Front Desk agents have same Marriott standard uniforms unless they are Managers and supervisors), Box projection TV(All of our rooms have flat screen plasma TVs), wait staffs white shirts were dingy and wrinkled (all of our wait staffs uniforms are black stripe, no one wears white), pillows were yellow and had a bad odor (we wash and dry them thoroughly and dispose if any stains found) etc…. I have more questions to ask you so we can immediately start to work on improvement. Please give us opportunity to do so by contacting me again at 919-768-6011. Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to let us know about your bad experience. I look forward to your call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

In a part of town one would not have dared to venture 10 years ago- area is now on it's way to being the trendy boutiquey area. Overall the hotel is good. Probably 5 star for the area but 4 star in general. Front desk staff welcoming and helpful. Comforable stay. Excellent breakfast available at restaurant 2 blocks away "Rue Cler" kind of Parisian believe it or not.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hudtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and giving us great compliments for our Front Desk staff! Yes, we are in the heart of this great City of Durham where you can do many exciting things. Going to Carolina Theatre, Durham Performing Art Center, Durham Bulls, and tasting great food in many popular local restaurants…. Please come back to see us. We will again best accommodate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#23 of 71 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#11 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#5 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott City Center

Property: Durham Marriott City Center
Address: 201 Foster St, Durham, NC 27701-3211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#12 Family Hotel in Durham
#19 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Durham Marriott City Center. Situated downtown, you'll love how the hotel and the city seamlessly blend the modern and the historic. The Durham Marriott City Center is connected to the 44,000 square foot Durham Convention Center and adjacent to the beautifully restored Carolina Theatre. Minutes away from Duke University, Duke Hospitals, and North Carolina Central University, this modern hotel compliments the heritage and classic architecture found throughout the city. Designed for both the business traveler and family vacationer, our comfortable accommodations and outstanding Marriott service ensure a memorable and productive visit. The Durham Marriott City Center is known for its helpful and knowledgeable staff that will ensure you get the most from your stay. Rooms at the hotel include Marriot's luxurious revived bedding package accompanied by high-definition flat screen televisions. Guests on the concierge level enjoy the added benefit of the concierge lounge serving appetizers and snacks Sunday evening through Friday morning. All guests appreciate the state of the art fitness center highlighted by eight units with 17 inch TV screens. Dining options include the 2 zero 1 restaurant with continental American dining and a casual atmosphere. The 2 zero 1 lounge offers nightly specials and a relaxed setting. So what are you waiting for? Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durham Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Marriott City Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing