We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated Rooms, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Durham Marriott City Center
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed January 22, 2008

We booked stay on priceline for $51 a night, so quite a deal. But rooms were old as were bathrooms. New beds and TV. They said redoing in a few months. Parking was across the street. The YMCA was very nice and about a block away- gave free passes at front desk. The Carolina Theater was accessible from the hotel- good films, popcorn and beer. Not many places to eat nearby. We went to Watts Grocery for dinner on Broad Street-not very good and did not live up to the hype.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexandriava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 423 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2007

The hotel was very nice inside, staff was friendly, and the room was clean. I was lucky enough to get a corner room on the 4th floor with 2 walls of windows, but unfortunately, Raleigh is not much to look at. (I literally had a clear view of the Lucky Strike factory smoke stack. Yipee!)

I was there on business, hosted a meeting in one of their ballrooms and I must say, I would highly recommend them for this service. The staff really makes a difference and did everything possible to make us comfortable and feel appreciated. The hotel restaurant by the bar has great burgers but service is a bit slow. Pricey too, but its to be expected from an in-house restaurant.

Overall, it was an excellent hotel- though they did forget my 4:45am wake up call and I almost missed my car to the airport. (GRRR!) So set your own alarms and you should have a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelinJerseyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

Beautiful hotel with first class service. Friendly employees. Perfectly clean room with the MOST comfortable beds we have ever slept on. Room service breakfast was good, but the hotel restaurantt was way overpriced for what they served. Only negative was the NO SMOKING policy. Everybody in the lounge wanted to smoke-yet you had to take a long walk outside to do so. and no smoking in the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamrizzbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

I traveled to Durham for a medical appointment and stumbled upon this great hotel through Tripadvisor. I was VERY pleased with this place and WILL stay again sometime in the near future.

The service was great and the hotel beds were VERY comfy. Since I joined trip advisor I always check other reviews before I stay. This was another great stay/find! Thanks trip advisor!

Stayed: October 2007
Thank sassytab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

A one night stay on our way to the beach, but a very pleasant surprise. Durham's downtown is in a redevelopment transition, but the Marriott stands out as a first class hotel in an otherwise empty part of the small downtown. Large, quiet, well furnished and very comfortable rooms, an exceptionally helpful and friendly staff and two restaurants on site. The Marriott is adjacent to the Durham civic center and Carolina Theater, with Duke University about a mile away. The only downside to the hotel appeared to be parking, all of which is outdoors in some rather surly looking lots, although the hotel advertises round the clock security surveillance. Our car was fine. The hotel said they have a complementary shuttle to the campus and medical center. We walked four blocks to the beautiful Durham Bulls ballpark to catch a game, then had dinner at the delightful Symposium restaurant next door (inside an old tobacco warehouse). Durham is an interesting city to visit...much of it's architecture is still rooted in a distinctive 1940s industrial post-art deco style (hard to describe because it's so unique). Most of the tobacco buildings that surround the downtown are in some stage of renovation into office space, which is attracting a wide range of businesses, shops and restaurants. Give it a couple of years...Durham will be a must see.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bees123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2007

I stayed at the Durham Marriott on April 19-21 in a comped room as part of a conference I hosted at the hotel. The meeting rooms were very nice and the catering/event staff great and responsive to our needs.

My room was an 8th floor corner room, and really big. Great view of downtown. The wireless internet worked fine, and it was nice that it was free.

The parking garage was across the street and kind of creepy/deserted, but it was free too so no complaints. I would def host an event here again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank silverthief2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2006

We had a good experience at this property. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable and we had a very nice view of the whole area from our window.

The thing that makes this property stand out is the staff. The morale is obviously good - every staff member we spoke with - from the bell person, to the valet parking person, the front desk staff, housekeeping and the bartender - were friendly, very helpful and competent.

The area is undergoing a lot of construction and improvements, which is a good sign that they are investing money in that area. We ate at a very nice - and very new - restaurant called Rue Clair. It was right down the street and we had an excellent dinner (with excellent service). This town has a lot of potential, and we're looking forward to going back at some point to see what progress they are making.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Princess1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#20 of 71 in Durham
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#25 of 71 in Durham
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Unscripted Durham
Unscripted Durham
#23 of 71 in Durham
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
0.1 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#4 of 71 in Durham
310 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott City Center

Address: 201 Foster Street, Durham, NC 27701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Durham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#19 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $129 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Durham Marriott City Center. Situated in downtown Durham, North Carolina, you'll love how our hotel and the city seamlessly blend the modern and the historic. Durham Marriott City Center is connected to the 44,000 square foot Durham Convention Center and adjacent to the beautifully restored Carolina Theatre. Minutes away from Duke University, Duke Hospitals, and North Carolina Central University, this modern hotel compliments the heritage and classic architecture found throughout the city. Designed for both the business traveler and family vacationer, our comfortable accommodations and outstanding Marriott service ensure a memorable and productive visit. Durham Marriott City Center is known for its helpful and knowledgeable staff that will ensure you get the most from your stay. Rooms at the hotel include Marriott's luxurious revived bedding package accompanied by high-definition flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durham Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Marriott City Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing