We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$107
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$108
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveler rating
155
176
84
25
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
176
84
25
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarolina theatrethe concierge loungefront deskcorner roomvalet servicehotel is centrally locatedwalking distanceconference centerlobby barroom serviceearly checksouthern hospitalitychecking outlocation was perfectduke universityone night staybusiness trip
Filter
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 453 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The hotel is located downtown. There are a few restaurants in walking distance. It is attached to a convention center and close to a music theatre.

The staff was friendly. The hotel was clean. The workout room was a bit small with only a set of free weights for those who want to actually do some lifting. The concierge lounge was very small, but the food was adequate and staff was nice.

The room was not big, but it was big enough. The bathroom was small. There was a decent HD flatscreen TV. The bed was comfortable and I could hear little to no noise.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FTLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I've been staying here for years and have never really been disappointed. The service is very good and I always feel like it's a good value. The only downside is that the public areas and the rooms could use a facelift. The rooms are comfortable, but average at this point. Try to score a corner room is you can.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oleoleolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This hotel is trying very hard to be more than just an average three and a half stars, and I think they succeed above and beyond. I arrived after a very trying flight that had been delayed three hours. When I finally arrived at the Marriott I was in a bad mood, to say the least.However, the staff was so kind and helpful, it put me in a better frame of mind right away. The fitness center is state of the art and the hotel is clean and quiet. I will definitely stay again. As for the parking situation - as for valet. They are happy to do it.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room...they will try and give you one.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dog_friendly60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night following a procedure at Duke Ambulatory Surgery Center. Not the closest accommodations to the Surgery Center, and not the least expensive; however, if that's your reason for a stay, the service makes the slightly extra travel time worth it. We found this Marriott to be a comfortable, gracious place to relax--whether you're "recovering" or not. Wonderful beds and pillows. A real plus in our circumstance was the availability of room service. The room service menu was extensive, surprisingly reasonably priced, and the food was delivered without delay, well presented on a rolling cart with white linens, and delicious. (We only had pizza, chicken wings, and salads, but they offer entrees as well.) Check-in was easy, and all of the staff pleasant and helpful, from the maintenance guy to the concierge. The lobby had a nice open "big city" feel to it. We didn't use the fitness room, but read that the equipment was recently upgraded, and also, guests can get a pass to the nearby YMCA. Cool! Tip we used from another TripAdvisor review: don't bother with valet parking, since it's just a really short walk to the Marriott lot across the street, but we had trouble finding it at first because you have to walk through a county employee lot. It's also short walk to the Ninth Street Bakery for morning coffee and tasty muffins or scones, but get there early for best selection! Our only issue was that the hotel elevators weren't working well, but the problem was being attended to. I'd stay here again if traveling to Durham for whatever reason.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jewel1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here because we were going to a show at the Carolina Theater. I had searched on Google maps for a nearby hotel and saw this one. Little did I realize that 'nearby' translated to 'physically attached to the theater'! There is a doorway from the hotel property that leads outside right by the door to the theater. (There is actually also a door inside that connects the properties, but that door can only be used to exit the theater back in to the hotel property. I assume this is because of not having enough ticket takers to cover that doorway in addition to the front entrance. In any case, it was still very convenient.)

The hotel room was lovely and large - very clean, comfortable and well-appointed. The wifi worked well, the flat screen TV was great, however the plugging panel that they tout was a bit hard to figure out (we ended up plugging our DVD player directly into the TV). The euro pillows were so comfy that we came home and bought some! One quibble - the bathroom is quite small - you have to scrunch over between the toilet and vanity to close the door to use the toilet or reach the tub. This aside, the bathroom was also very clean and well-stocked. All the staff we interacted with were friendly and helpful. Self-parking is across the street and behind a building, but it's free which is a real deal in a downtown area.

Marriott online booking allows you to request amenities. We requested and received early check-in, a refrigerator and a room on a high floor near the stairs.

All in all, a lovely trip. We'll be back in January for another Carolina Theater show!

Food recs nearby - For lunch, check out Toast right near the hotel - they have the best paninos and costini in the world. Also rec Dos Perros for high concept Mexican.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on a high floor - you'll get two walls of windows and a lovely city view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leronis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews