We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good service, atmosphere OK” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watts Grocery

Watts Grocery
Reserve with OpenTable
Watts Grocery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 761 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Club Blvd
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
198 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, atmosphere OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our daughter and family live within walking distance and we (the grandparents) got to have a night out. We had heard good things about the restaurant (had actually had take-out from it in the past) and we were not disappointed. Service was quick (wait person was at table soon after we sat down) food came quickly, and the wait staff were very cordial & efficient. Food was very good (not the best we have ever had, but VERY good) and prices reasonable. A good place to eat, we recommend it and will return

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    95
    27
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Loved Watts Grocery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Waitress was friendly and food was excellent. Celebrated our 23 anniversary and we were not disappointed!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
285 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Food delicious, Service outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our third time at Watts Grocery, first time for dinner while the other two occasions were luncheon meals. We were not disappointed. Alexis, our waitperson, was attentive but not in your face. Her recommendation for a wine choice was excellent. Carol had the angus beef entree while I had the fresh fish of day - North Carolina flounder. We had a nice table for four near the back of the restaurant, great for intimate conversations. We were too stuffed for dessert and we left feeling content and happy for another wonderful experience at Watts Grocery. The only negative was the noise was getting loud by the time departed around 7:45 pm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
191 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“A Very Special Culinary Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My daughter who lives locally recommended with Watts which is in a unpretentious building complex in Durham. It lives up to its farm-to-table concept which can be trendy but in this case, it truly works.
The lure of the restaurant is a somewhat limited menu employing fresh organic ingredients used to prepare incredibly delicious entrees.....and great personalized service. We did not experience any issues with service mentioned by a few other reviewers and we were there on a weekend.

Simple dishes with blended flavors....this chef knows what she is doing.
Reservations are a must....the place is small with limited seating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Theroadwarrior12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
143 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“not a grocery but a great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Farm to table food, innovative menu. One of our favorite dinner spots in the Durham area, which has more than its fair share of delicious restaurants.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank travellerNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watts Grocery also viewed

 

Been to Watts Grocery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing