We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious !”
Review of Melo Trattoria

Melo Trattoria
Ranked #34 of 771 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Minden, NV
Level 6 Contributor
614 reviews
398 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Delicious !”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stumbled by this place. Had planned to try the pricey place next door, but ended up at Melo. SO glad I had lunch here instead. Gyros, small Greek salad (although not at all small) and a glass of wine for under $20. Wonderful service, ample portions and absolutely delicious food. This place is a Mediterranean home run.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    58
    15
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our group of five had a good meal, but we didn't find anything that amazing. Liked the upbeat feel of the place and service was good enough. We just felt our dishes were American interpretations of a mix of Italian and Greek dishes. Nothing was bad, nothing was outstanding. Parker house rolls at beginning of meal didn't set a great tone for us. Didn't care for the fact that only house wines were offered by the glass. We left there wondering what lead to all the fantastic reviews.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nf0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best Italian in the Triangle!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The perfect environment, the perfect food and the perfect hosts for a superb dinner!
The "conchas a la parmesana" are a must appetizer!
We got the special lasagna and the spaghetti alla putanesca. Both were delicious!
And the desserts are the best!! The chocolate hazelnut mousse!! and probably the best tiramisu i have ever tried!
If you have not tried this place you are missing big time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernesto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious- You must try”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were here visiting Duke and needed a nice restaurant within close distance but with good food. The lasagna was so delicious,subtle,but not boring. The lamb appetizer was so interesting as a tapas portion and very tasty. I do not know what other reviewers are complaining about service, everyone was very attentive. The wine list had many offerings. When in town I will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelgalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delizioso”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Tried this place for lunch after reading reviews on TA. I ate outside at the sidewalk tables & had the Spaghetti Alla Puttanesca, with a glass of Pinot Noir, and it was fabulous!! I had enough leftover for lunch the next day. The Tiramisu was deliciously light & melted in my mouth. No leftovers on the dessert. The waitstaff was friendly & attentive. A fantastic find off the beaten path!!! Good prices.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nanniebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melo Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Melo Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing