We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good!!”
Review of Peony Asian Bistro

Peony Asian Bistro
Ranked #156 of 774 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Chinese, Japanese
Restaurant details
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Consistently Good!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The family discovered Peony Asian Bistro shortly after it opened several years ago and we were immediately appreciative of their take on asian cuisine. The menu is pan asian with representative dishes from Thailand and Japan to China and Singapore. My kids and the wife really enjoy going there for sushi as their sushi rolls have always been buy one get one free, enabling them for $5-$8 to get a couple of different rolls each. Other items on their menu are really excellent such as their Sesame Chicken. They have recently added bento boxes wheich not only look neat but offer a nice variety of menu items to choose from. Definitely a keeper as a regular haunt!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A consistent favorite”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My friends and I consider Peony to be one of our "go to" options when we are considering a get together. We have always appreciated the great service provided by the restaurant team. They remember us and take great care of us each visit.

The restaurant is located in a shopping center and the atmosphere is relatively standard. Nothing special about the setting.

The food is quite good. We often get sushi, but the non-sushi options are always good as well. My personal favorite is the Lion King roll which sometimes arrives at my table without me even having to order it! The sushi is all buy one/get one so that helps keep the costs always reasonable.

The restaurant is well known -- there is always a small crowd whenever we go. (We may visit anytime throughout the week.) However, it is never loud or crowded to the point you won't be seated immediately.

Often we mention Peony before any other choices even are discussed. A sign of how we all appreciate our good experiences there time after time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlierdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicious take-out Asian food!”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

While we stayed at the Springhill Suites, we were looking for take-out food to bring back to the hotel -- so we could keep watching college football on TV. We ordered four different dishes from Peony, and every one was delicious, hot, and exactly as described in the menu. Our take-out experience was easy from the phone call to place the order, to the directions to find the restaurant, to the picking up of the food. So close to Springhill, too!

We will definitely eat here again when we are in Durham!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank LyndaWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Inexpensive fresh sushi and sashimi, plus Asian menu”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

They sell a lot of sushi and sashimi here, one key to it being fresh. The luncheon specials are about the best deal around. Very popular with lots of repeat customers, and always several people waiting for take-out. After a few visits, staff members remember your preferences. They tend to put eel sauce on things, but you can ask them not to.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyger41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peony Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing