We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Italian Food”

Bocci Trattoria & Pizzeria
Ranked #112 of 765 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Okay Italian Food”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Had dinner here with my wife, my daughter and her family last Friday evening. I had the Lasagna (as did my wife), my daughter and her husband both had the pasta in vodka sauce and the children had spaghetti. The food here is good, but not great. The portions are large so a go box is usually required. The service is fast and friendly. The wine list has some nice offerings, good chiantis and syrahs. It would only take a little effort to put this restaurant into a higher rating category. But, overall, it's good food for a good price. We keep going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    32
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lots of Food, Above Average Flavor”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a nice dinner last weekend. However, I would suggest splitting a dish as the portions are super large! I think it's above average Italian for this area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank checht96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
655 reviews
477 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Skip this one”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Had an OK experience years ago at the Cary restaurant - nothing special so never returned. The Durham experience was worse and we will definitely not return. This is very average, oversalted Italian food. Fish was not fresh and inedible (and no-one noticed when it was not eaten). Service was slow, orders were wrong and not brought together. All in all a disappointment and we suggest eating somewhere else.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eat-Sleep-Walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Heavenly deep dish pizza”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Bocci is one of my favorite restaurants in Durham. I've gotten many different things off the menu and have never been disappointed (stromboli, salad, seafood, pasta, etc). The best by far (in my opinion) is their chicago deep dish pizza. It's seriously heavenly! A big treat when you have a craving for lots of cheese. Prices are affordable in a casual, relaxed atmosphere

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yankeegirl125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Carteret, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

First let me say that they must have gotten the message about the bread because ours was very good crusty artisan style. They also keep oil and balsamic vinegar on the table for dipping which for me is a must. Their portion sizes are very large. I had the stromboli and my wife had pasta with meat sauce. Both were excellent and we brought home enough for dinner the next night. The good news is they were having a "half price sale" on wine bottles under $30. We brought half a bottle of wine home as well. All of this, tax and tip, for under $40. Great value for a great meal. We will deffinately return next time we are in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocci Trattoria & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Bocci Trattoria & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing