We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
102
10
1
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
102
10
1
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews magnolia suite house is beautiful yummy homemade head shower historic charm brightleaf square breakfast was delicious durham bulls baseball southern hospitality duke university within walking distance other guests cookies next morning common areas rooms are spacious waffles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 117 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2018

We spent the weekend at this wonderful inn while in Durham for the Duke parents weekend. We plan on spending all of our parents weekends here for the whole 4 years! It is a charming inn, but the reason to stay is for the innkeepers, Monica and Daniel, and for the food! Monica and Daniel are the most charming and interesting innkeepers we have ever met. They serve a delicious breakfast and then take the time to sit with their guests (if the guests want!) and chat. They are such warm and interesting people, that one wants to extend breakfast. But for those guests who just wanted to eat (or not) and keep to themselves, as happened also this weekend, the innkeepers honor that wish as well.

The breakfasts were so excellent, as was Daniel's special carrot cake that was simply in the kitchen for the tasting.

The common rooms are charming and so welcoming. The bedrooms each unique and lovely.

The location is walking or quick taxi ride to Brightleaf and Duke - in a quiet residential historical district. So a great location for restaurants, shopping and everything Duke!

We look forward to returning!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwbroooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2018

Stayed during a girlfriends visit to Durham. We initially chose Morehead because of the location and it is, indeed, close to everything. We were no more than 15 minutes from all the activities - probably less to the Duke campus. We stayed in a very spacious room with two queen beds, private bath with an AMAZING shower. The house is beautiful, very well kept, and clean as a whistle. Innkeepers provided quality tissues, t.p., plush towels and robes (important to us women!), and conversation over a delicious breakfast. We would definitely return! Thanks for a lovely accommodation!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KRISTIE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica E, Owner at Morehead Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2018

It was our pleasure to be a part of your "Girlfriends" visit to Durham. Yes, we are proud that we are conveniently located to most of the area's sites and the universities in the area. We look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

I stayed for two nights while visiting a friend who recently moved to Durham. Monica and Daniel are incredibly welcoming and would stop and chat and provide recommendations. The house is gorgeous and so well maintained. My room was super clean and had everything I needed. The bonus amenities of snacks, pie and water in the original fridge were wonderful.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank amandaz280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica E, Owner at Morehead Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us while in Durham and hope to have you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile

This bed and breakfast inn is a welcoming and a cozy place to stay. We were very pleased to stay in the Magnolia Suite which was large and well appointed. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and satisfying. We’ll certainly return when back in the area...

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank pmcleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica E, Owner at Morehead Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

We enjoyed hosting you during your visit to Durham and look forward to your return. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

The owners [Daniel and Monica] of this B&B were extremely helpful in making us feel welcome in their large 100+ year old home. They helped us find interesting attractions to visit while in Durham [Duke University is only 1/4 mile away] and described nearby dining options. We especially liked that we could walk [about 3 blocks] to chose from 4 or 5 restaurants in the Tobacco Historic District right next to the Durham Bulls Baseball Stadium.

Despite being an old home, the rooms were in excellent condition and comfortably decorated. And the breakfast was excellent - waffles, fruit, sausage, orange juice, and coffee.

We had a very relaxing time at this B&B and enjoyed chatting with the owners.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank B8406HLtomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews