We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unexpected Gem”

Blooming Garden Inn and Holly House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blooming Garden Inn and Holly House
Ranked #4 of 8 Durham B&B and Inns
Seneca, South Carolina
1 review
“An Unexpected Gem”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Not only were the suites well appointed, clean and uniquely decorated, but the graciousness and generosity of hosts Frank and Dolly were beyond our expectations. When the weather caused closings of all the nearby restaurants, Dolly had a most welcomed meal awaiting us late in the evening. The hosts went out of their way to accommodate others who were stranded by the winter snow and showed great concern for our safety and well being. We know we will be welcomed just as genuinely when we return again. A delightful experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougSC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    4
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
21
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We spent Christmas week visiting family in Durham, NC and stayed at this truly unique B&B. The history of the building itself was fascinating but even more so was the story of how Frank & Dolly dedicated themselves to its full restoration. It is well worth the staying there just to meet them.

The house is eclectically decorated with antiques and contemporary pieces. It is a delight to see. Bedrooms are well appointed and most comfortable.

Breakfast each day offered a different delicious dish served with good cheer and conversation.

I most tell you that it was out first time there. We found it on our web search for B&B's in Durham. The website got us interested and then the phone call with Frank sealed the deal. What wonderful people. We will be back again in April and cannot wait!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David-Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I lucked out when I found The Blooming Garden Inn! I was in Durham by myself for a month, originally staying at an Extended Stay, but after a bad experience I packed my bags and went to check out a B&B. When I pulled into the Blooming Garden, Frank and Dolly took me into their lovely home for three weeks. During that time, they made me feel safe, and like one of the family. Frank made the best crust less spinach quiche I ever had, and Dolly always had a beautiful bowl of fresh fruit waiting for the guests every morning. When I returned in the evening, I looked forward to seeing them and telling about my day. Great conversations! I will return to Durham just to stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Dolly and Frank welcomed us with a glass or two of wine and were able to give us plenty of information about what to do in Durham. Frank even drove us to his favourite restaurant. We stayed in the Moroccan Room which was well appointed if a little eccentric. We enjoyed Frank's home made breakfast with an English friend of the family who had been invited to make us feel at home. A great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I were in Durham for a comedian at the Carolina Theater. As this was an impromptu trip we decided to also get a room. After learning that pretty much all the hotels in the area were occupied we call The Blooming Garden Inn. What a breath of fresh air. From the moment we called to the time that we left we were embraced with hospitality. Frank and Dolly were exceptional and the house was a feast for the eyes with memorabilia and trinkets encompassing every nook. Beautiful fresh cut flowers and tall ceilings through out the house. We arrived late from the show at the Theater and had not yet had dinner. Frank drove us himself to a nearby restaurant so that we could grab a bite to eat and after dinner drink. When we got back to the inn the couple had made our room feel just like home. I would recommend this Inn to anyone. It was so delightful and who can turn down beautiful quiet rooms and fresh cut fruit, pancakes, and sausage for breakfast?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChasTCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My fiancé and I made plans to come to Durham to see a musical performer at the Carolina Theater. We found Blooming Garden Inn to be close to our venue and decided to stay there. We weren't sure what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised!
Upon arrival we were welcomed in and offered tea and treats. We talked about why we were here etc. They offered advice on places to eat and even offered to make the reservation for us. The breakfast was amazing and I loved the attention to detail. Our hosts Dolly and Frank were very friendly and helpful. And the best part was the theater was walking distance so we didn't have the headache of trying to find parking. We felt safe walking, and safe in the neighborhood we were staying in.
We had an amazing time here and will definitely come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the moroccan room. I loved the decor! Our bathroom was across the hall but it wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groothuislm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I were greeted by our first name when we entered this delightful Victorian house. The Inn Keepers, Frank & Dolly, are most gracious as they respected our privacy and at the same time were willing to share their personal experiences and historical backgrounds of the many antiques that fill their inn. Outside our room was a seating area on part of the larger wrap around porch. We enjoyed watching the sun go down in an old glider and taking a moment from our busy lives to relax. We ran in a road race early on a Sunday morning and Frank and Dolly held breakfast (really a brunch) for us. I am not sure if it was running before breakfast or the fresh eggs, fruit, and hot bread with Amish butter and raw honey we were served--regardless, the meal was wonderful. We look forward to our next trip to Durham and will be sure to book a room at the Blooming Garden Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the first floor and did not see the other rooms (occupied). We liked the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
0.6 mi away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#25 of 71 in Durham
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#18 of 71 in Durham
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Durham Marriott City Center
0.5 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#3 of 71 in Durham
264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blooming Garden Inn and Holly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooming Garden Inn and Holly House

Property: Blooming Garden Inn and Holly House
Address: 513 Holloway St, Durham, NC 27701-3457
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blooming Garden Inn and Holly House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing