We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful in Durham!”
Review of Arrowhead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arrowhead Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful in Durham!”
Reviewed January 15, 2007

My husband and I typically stay with friends when we visit Durham, but this time around we opted for accommodations since our friends have a newborn. After one stay at the Arrowhead, we are hooked and plan on making this delightful inn our home base when we come to Durham in the future. This is the first B&B that we've been to where the owners truly exude passion for what they do. Innkeeper Phil Teber does his own renovations, and it's evident that quite a bit of care has gone into preserving - and upgrading - this home. Phil could not have been nicer, and spent enough time with us at breakfast to make us feel welcome, but not so much time that it intruded on our morning. The amenities were wonderful - incredibly fluffy towels, the softest sheets, and Gilchrist and Soames products in the rooms. I believe it was the cleanest room I've ever stayed in, and it just felt so homey and warm. My only complaint is that the front door started opening and closing rather loudly beginning early in the morning, and because our room overlooked the front I woke up earlier than I would have liked. But that was a small blip in an otherwise wonderful experience. We look forward to our return!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindermoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    21
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
51
273
15
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2006

Over the past four years we've stayed in Durham several times while visiting our son - always at chain hotels/motel - and thought we would treat ourselves to a bed and breakfast for his senior year parents' weekend. From the moment we stepped into the Arrowhead Inn, we felt welcome and comfortable. A beautiful home that was built as a plantation house, the Arrowhead has been lovingly renovated without losing any of the charm of an 18th century home. We were warmly greeted by Gloria and given a tour of the house before she took us up to our room. Because it was Parents Weekend, when we booked we were 'only' able to get the Mason Room. Described as 'cozy' on their website, we were expecting a tiny room. Instead, we found a beautiful, gracious, recently refurbished room with a four poster bed, working fireplace, and lovely new bathroom. Linens were excellent and the bathroom was well stocked with thick fluffy towels and wonderful toiletries. The Inn's thick terry robes were the perfect touch after our showers. Little amenities such as complimentary bottled water, snacks, chocolates, etc., in our room were also a nice added touch. Breakfasts were delicious and prepared each morning by Phil; each breakfast had it's own flair and was accompanied by fresh, warm scones or other baked goods. We love the friendliness of B&B's - the opportunity to meet new people, etc. - Gloria is such a wonderful hostess that she smoothly facilitated introductions and pointed out common interests before heading off to help serve the food. By the end of the weekend we were sorry to be leaving and wished we had thought to book here for our son's graduation weekend (regrettably it is no longer available). We wish we had found the Arrowhead sooner and will definitely return when we are next in the area.

  • Liked — the beautiful facilities and the friendliness of the hosts and other guests
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mavrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2006

This was one of the best B&B's we've visited. Our room had all of the amenities and then some. There were fresh flowers and the smell of lavender waiting for us when we got to our cottage. The staff and owners were friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful. Overall, this was a fantastic place to stay!

  • Liked — room & friendly owners
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A&MTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2006

We were in Durham for a family event, and stayed at the beautiful Arrowhead Inn. Our stay there far exceeded our expectations of a fine Inn. We have stayed at dozens of B&Bs and Inns in the US and internationally, and would rate the Arrowhead Inn as one of the best experiences we've had overall. It is a magnificent, carefully renovated, well-maintained historic home at the edge of a quiet neighborhood. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfasts were absolutely fabulous (they were so wonderful that we ate every bite, and weren’t able to eat much lunch during our stay). Gloria and Phil were knowledgeable about the area and attentive, yet not intrusive. They obviously care greatly about the details of being outstanding Innkeepers. On future visits to Durham/Chapel Hill, we would not consider staying anywhere other than at the Arrowhead Inn!

  • Liked — Friendly and relaxed atmosphere, beautiful accommodations, warm hospitality and exceptional breakfasts
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — N/A
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott&Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2006

We spent our first wedding anniversary at the Arrowhead Inn. From the moment we walked up to the front door, we knew we were staying at an extra special place. The innkeepers greeted us, by name, at the door. The inn was beautifully restored with inviting furniture. The smells of lavender in the air made us relax as soon as we stepped foot inside. Our room, the Benson, was gorgeous yet comfortable. The whirlpool tub was a great way to unwind at the end of the day.

The food was amazing!! The Innkeeper is a wonderful gourmet chef. Each morning we were exciting to see (and taste!) what he had created. This was truly an amazing weekend for us and we recommend the Arrowhead Inn to anyone visiting Durham or just looking to take a break from the everyday.

  • Liked — The attention to detail and the friendliness of the Innkeepers
  • Disliked — Loved everything!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank amandailane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2006

We higly recommend this lovely inn. The spacious and immaculate rooms were beautifully decorated. Breakfast was outstanding and the innkeepers very welcoming. No detail was overlooked. We were so comfortable there and wished we could have stayed longer. Next time we will!

  • Liked — The beautiful decor and the comfort level.
  • Disliked — I have no complaints whatsoever!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank longponder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
9.0 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
7.0 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#18 of 71 in Durham
296 reviews
12.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowhead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowhead Inn

Property: Arrowhead Inn
Address: 106 Mason Rd, Durham, NC 27712-9106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrowhead Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oasis in the Heart of North Carolina's Triangle-Durham, Chapel Hill & Raleigh. Relax in the comfort and luxury of our 18th century plantation home. The Arrowhead Inn rest on six acres of gardens and lawns amid venerable magnolia trees. Each of our nine elegant rooms and Log Cabin and Cottage provide a serene respite with the amenities of a fine hotel. The Arrowhead Inn is proud to be a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Arrowhead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing