We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful experience!”
Review of Arrowhead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrowhead Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful experience!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We choose to stay at B&B's whenever we go out of town, and I can honestly say that the Arrowhead Inn is at the top of our list of favorites now. Every detail was attended to, and we were made to feel so welcome and appreciated. Phil and Gloria were excellent hosts who took pride in their home and made sure each guest was well taken care of. If you have a chance, don't miss out on the special dinner created by Phil - absolutely some of the best food we have ever eaten! He is a professional chef, and it certainly is evident in the breakfasts, afternoon snacks, and especially the personalized dinner. We have the wonderful privilege of staying both in the Brittan Room and the Garden Cottage - both were wonderful in their own ways. You will be well treated at the Arrowhead Inn!

Room Tip: For extra privacy, choose the Garden Cottage out back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowhead_Inn, Owner at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Your fabulous comments fall on welcoming ears considering your extensive experience with B&Bs! It’s wonderful you were able to experience the Brittain Room in the Manor House (http://www.arrowheadinn.com/rooms/brittain-room.html) as well as the private Garden Cottage (http://www.arrowheadinn.com/rooms/garden-cottage.html) for two different perspectives of our Durham B&B. Thank you for your extended stay and winsome patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    21
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
50
265
14
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My son and new daughter-in-law had their wedding and honeymoon at the Inn this past December. There was not one detail left unattended to. The food was off the chart and the hospitality and care was outstanding . The inn was nothing short of elegant with Christmas decorations and inviting fireplaces. Many of our family have food allergies and are "foodies" . What a treat to be so well cared for. It was a dream come true for us all! Great value for all surfaces.:)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roguemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowhead_Inn, Owner at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Your family’s wedding was absolutely beautiful and a privilege to host here at Arrowhead Inn. We’re so pleased they chose Durham for their wedding and to stay for the weekend. You’re a wonderful spokesperson for our Intimate Family Wedding (http://www.arrowheadinn.com/weddings/intimate-wedding.html)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our stay was shortly after Christmas and we were able to experience the wonderful ambiance of real trees and sitting in front of the fireplace with warm cocoa. Phil is an amazing chef and always had mouthwatering breakfasts (any juice you could think of, fresh fruit and a scone or other bakery item and the breakfast of the day--waffles with bacon, quiche, baked eggs, breakfast burrito--the naming of which does not do them justice) and afternoon snacks (wonderful selection of fruit, cheese, crackers and sweets). I can only imagine the cuisine and enjoyment of it during the spring and summer, when Phil harvests from his garden and meals and quiet time can be outside in the garden. Gloria is fully attentive to the needs of every guest and all details in the smooth running of the Inn. She ensures that no quest wants for anything she can provide. We stayed in the Duke suite, with the comfortable bed affording great sleep and the sitting room with fireplace large enough to spread out and complete our work. Housekeeping was unobtrusive and excellent. We would recommend Arrowhead for any travel--business, romantic getaway, a retreat when at the medical center, or simply to treat yourself to pampering.

Room Tip: Look at the online pictures carefully. They accurately depict the amenities and size of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorkingRetreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowhead_Inn, Owner at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
What an excellent breakfast description and commendation – much appreciated! We’re so pleased you enjoyed the fresh trees and fireplace ambiance. On your next visit, consider the Garden Cottage (http://www.arrowheadinn.com/rooms/garden-cottage.html) or Carolina Log Cabin (http://www.arrowheadinn.com/rooms/carolina-log-cabin.html) and we’ll bring the sumptuous breakfast to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We loved staying in the cabin for our 30th anniversary retreat! And it was definitely a treat! Loved the cozy feel and all the amenities! Gloria and Phil were excellent hosts! The food was excellent and the atmosphere was wonderful.

Room Tip: If you want a total get-away, the cabin is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowhead_Inn, Owner at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
We’re honored you chose Arrowhead Inn for your 30th Anniversary! Look forward to having you back at our Durham B&B again soon for your next special occasion or just because.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Arrowhead Inn turned out to be much more than I anticipated. We stayed in the log cabin & had everything that we needed for a romantic getaway. The innkeepers were wonderful, breakfast was exquisite & the accommodations were really enjoyable. It was very comfortable & the grounds were beautiful. Great place to ensure privacy, a very intimate setting. We had everything that we needed. We loved it & plan on returning soon

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbrown2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowhead_Inn, Owner at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for entrusting us as your special getaway and for taking the time to submit thoughts and feedback! We look forward to your next visit and might recommend the Garden Cottage, which is our other private suite (http://www.arrowheadinn.com/rooms/garden-cottage.html).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston sc
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Arrowhead Inn is one of the nicest inns that we have stayed at. We chose the "cottage" which was very comfortable.The fact that it also included a fireplace made it cozy as well. The extra appeal was the steam shower.....what a treat! Our hosts, Gloria and Phil, are the best innkeepers, they are friendly and very helpful. And best of all Phil is a great cook. He made us a dinner the night of our arrival that would match any gourmet restaurant in the area. Breakfast was incredible as well.
We would recommend this Inn to anyone visiting the Durham area.
MJ & Vinny

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vobrien42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowhead_Inn, Owner at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
We really appreciate your glowing feedback MJ and Vinny. We’re so pleased you had a great time. You’ll have to try our Elegant Tasting Dinner (http://www.arrowheadinn.com/eveningdining.html) on your next visit and we hope you return to our country oasis in Durham again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Arrowhead Inn is a marvelous B&B. We have stayed here for four of our wedding anniversaries. The Inn is a restored mansion with individualized suites and rooms. The Brittain, our suite, this visit, is a large room with the a grand four poster bed, oriental rugs, fireplace, wing chairs, soaking tub in suite, and a nice deck. The suite features lovely furniture and looks like the photos online.

Phil and Gloria are welcoming hosts who invite you into their home. They are like old friends. They are very attentive to your needs and wants while allowing you your privacy.

Arrowhead Inn is a bed and breakfast so breakfast is included. Breakfast is a three course experience you do not want to miss. Phil can really cook. Start with Phil's signature scones. Today's breakfast, baked apple stuffed with walnuts, raisins, cranberry, and topped with raspberries. Sheared eggs with asparagus, chicken sausage, toast, brie, jelly, and juice. Then there is layered brie, spinach, tomato, topped off with a sweet pepper relish.

Arrowhead Inn is like a fine wine, it is better each time we visit. It deserves more stars. We will be back, same time, next year.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Toussaint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowhead_Inn, Owner at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your marvelous review! We are thrilled you have fallen in love with our property and continue the tradition of visiting for your anniversary. Your compliments on breakfast warm our hearts and the fine wine alliteration is an inspiration! We look forward to your next visit and appreciate the wonderful testimony you are to all our future guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
8.4 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#13 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
9.0 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
8.4 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#5 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
14.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowhead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowhead Inn

Property: Arrowhead Inn
Address: 106 Mason Rd, Durham, NC 27712-9106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrowhead Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oasis in the Heart of North Carolina's Triangle-Durham, Chapel Hill & Raleigh. Relax in the comfort and luxury of our 18th century plantation home. The Arrowhead Inn rest on six acres of gardens and lawns amid venerable magnolia trees. Each of our nine elegant rooms and Log Cabin and Cottage provide a serene respite with the amenities of a fine hotel. The Arrowhead Inn is proud to be a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arrowhead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing