We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arrowhead Inn
Nearby Hotels
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$92
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveler rating
420
24
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
420
24
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgloria and phillog cabingarden cottagesteam showerthe main housebed and breakfastwonderful hostsbenson roomselect registryamazing chefour honeymoongourmet breakfastdurham arearomantic getawaywedding nightbreakfast was amazinglemon curd
Filter
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 451 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We recently stayed at the Arrowhead Inn to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday. Our accomodations were in the cottage adjacent to the main house which was decorated nicely and was very spacious. We enjoyed the double jacuzzi tub that was in the bedroom. It was very quiet inside when the windows were closed but we could hear road noise when the windows were open even though the cottage is protected from the road by the main house. The grounds are beautiful although rain prevented us from enjoying the various outdoor sitting areas. Goria and Phil, the hosts, are lovely people who did all they could to make this an enjoyable and memorable occasion. Phil prepared a wonderful dinner for seven people and the service was friendly and attentive. We all enjoyed the meal choices, although I thought a little too much salt was used in the pork medallions and my wife thought the same of the the beef tenderloin. Minor considering the overall gestalt of the meal. All things considered, we enjoyed the experience very much.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank behalcyon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2015

We are so thankful you chose to stay with us to celebrate such a momentous occasion. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your feedback regarding areas we could improve. We hope you will return to stay with us, happy birthday and we wish you many more to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

From the moment we arrived, the visit was delightfu. The property, itself, was beautiful and the landscape captivating with flowers everywhere and art pieces disiplayed in unique ways everywhere you looked. The home was tastefully decorated in period style and I actually felt like I was experiencing life on a plantation. We were treated with excellent service and the breakfasts were delicious and something to look forward to each day. Our stay was short, but I assure you I'll remember it with great fondness for a long time.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2015

We are thrilled that your stay with us was so wonderful. We love to hear when our guests feel well taken care of. Thank you so much for your thoughtful review and we hope you will be back to see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I had the recent pleasure of staying at the Arrowhead Inn as part of a family reunion of 16 people. We could not have made a better choice. Innkeepers Gloria and Phil are a delight and worked with the family in advance of our stay to accommodate everyone, providing a couple of foldup beds as needed. The rooms were luxurious and very comfortable. Breakfasts, prepared by gourmet chef Phil were fabulous with fresh fruit cups, fresh-baked scones, and marvelous egg dishes. Our family also requested a dinner one evening, prepared by Phil, and we were not disappointed. Phil and Gloria consulted with us on the menu to accommodate any dietary restrictions, and the meal was truly memorable. During the days we enjoyed porch sitting, croquet and frisbee on the lovely grounds, and evenings on the outdoor patio. We highly recommend the Arrowhead Inn for a reunion or any occasion.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and thoughtful review regarding your stay. We are so happy you chose to stay with us for your family reunion. We are so glad that your family felt welcome and relaxed during their stay. We hope we will have the honor of serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here in mid -April in lipscomb room. House and grounds beautifully kept and immaculately clean. Breakfasts outstanding. Enjoyed engaging in thoughtful discussion with interesting guests and wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beansy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2015

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your room, your company and your food. We hope you will return1

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This Bed and Breakfast is a traditional delight. The plantation house is immaculate and decorated with period accessories and pictures, but I think the broad-plank hardwood floors are my favorite antique feature. We stayed in the Mason Room and found it cozy and comfortable. While the ambiance is very reminiscent of a Southern history, the amenities are tackfully current. The rainfall showerhead, quality tiling, and understated vanity give the petit bathroom functional luxury. And thank you for the Wi-Fi! I've become spoiled and now really do want this included at all lodging as it is at the Arrowhead. A note on service: we arrived much later than expected, getting in at 10:30pm. Gloria stayed up late to receive us, show us our room, and make sure we got settled okay. I felt terrible about the late arrival, and could not apologize enough, but Gloria was very gracious and accommodating about it. I have saved the best for last. Phil makes the best gourmet breakfasts! So don't sleep in, make it downstairs to enjoy the best part of a B&B, the breakfast!

Room Tip: Read the descriptions about all the rooms. Each is unique, so choose one that fits your tastes and needs. I might try one with a spa tub next time!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2015

We are thrilled to hear that your stay was so special. Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding the décor and amenities. It is so wonderful to hear that our guests feel well taken care of. We do hope you will return if you are ever in the are. Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews