We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff and Location Make This Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
goldapple360
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Staff and Location Make This Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

First, the staff are what take this hotel from average to very good. I stay here several times a year for work and everyone, from front desk, to dining room to housekeeping, so friendly and helpful. Second, is the location. Across from the Southpoint Mall and in a shopping center with a variety of restaurants (all chains) and shopping.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldapple360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    153
    47
    12
    11
See reviews for
139
78
34
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My mother stayed at this hotel every time she had to take my dad to duke hospital. I have to say its amazing and super nice inside. I have to tell you how much the staff helped me out a while back but not to long ago my mom had to spend her birthday in the hotel while my dad was being treated the hotel went out of there way for me to go to the store get my mother a birthday cake and deliver it to her room with the dinner i told them to order on me that night plus they brought up a bottle of cider for them. Wonder staff

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for the birth of our first grandchild, I planned to stay for 3 weeks. The staff was very welcoming, the checkin staff extremely accommodating for a room size to fit my other kids when they came. Rollaway beds were easily provided for no extra fee. Free wifi, worked great. Complementary breakfast was huge, hot foods full breakfast served daily. The staff sent flowers balloons and a wristlets for the new mother,not my room. This is the place to stay in Durham! There is a huge amount of shopping in this plaza, along with drug store gas station restaurants. Close to airport, like 12 minute drive. Best of all was the staff from head housekeeper who personally congratulated me on becoming a grandmother, to the guy who delivered the beds. Front desk excellent.

Room Tip: Top floor away from ice machine , only because that is always my preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke VA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

This has been our go-to hotel in our many visits to the Triangle ever since it opened. In our experience, it is a cut above most HGI properties -- newer, brighter, and even the elevators are extra tall inside so you never feel cramped. The adjoining Ruth's Chris is a big plus -- we go to the lounge area a lot for bar food and drinks (Big Manhattans for $6.50!). At least one previous reviewer is correct in noting that halls are not air conditioned, but that never bothered me. The only two downsides I can come up with are the satellite TV -- the local channels are supposed to be High Def but few seem to be -- and that most vexing of all HGI issues everywhere, inconsistency of breakfast service. If Ruth is on duty, breakfast service is extremely efficient. She is one of the best breakfast hosts we have encountered anywhere. If she is not on duty, others are friendly enough but seem to have difficulty keeping tables set up for the next diners. Highly recommended, and yes, if you want to visit Southpoint, the location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

For the first time, my husband and I arrived in an area (Chapel Hill/Durham) without a reservation, assuming that we would have no problems. WRONG!!! We were turned away from four hotels before we finally found the Hilton Garden Inn. Were we lucky! The staff was very friendly and efficient -- one front desk clerk recommended an incredible (well priced!) restaurant. We had a beautiful 2 room suite (at a very reasonable price) with 2 tv's and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in away from home! And, there were enough plugs to charge our electronics! Only downside (of the chain, I guess) is that breakfast isn't included in the rate! I highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janet_greenlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponder, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

First of all, the location of this hotel is great! There is a Ruth Chris steakhouse on property and a ton of other restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. (Chilis, Buffalo Wild Wings, Teds Montana Grill, Cheesecake Factory, Firebirds, Champps and many more). Check-in was fast and efficient, but that's kind of where it ends with this place for me. The hallways must not even be air conditioned as you step off the elevator into a steam bath. Sure it's summer, but the A/C works in my room, why not in the hallways? The linens on the bed are very thin and cheap, not standard for a HGI property. The internet is REALLY SLOW as I type in this review. I've tried both wireless and wired and both are equally slow. The carpet in my room definitely needs a good shampooing and I wouldn't think of letting my bare feet touch the carpet.

There are too many other properties in the area that are better, but the thing that this location has going for it, is just that, location. Right across the street from the Southpoint Mall and tons of restaurants and shopping. Would I come back? Probably not, but it was OK for one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXBusinessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I use this hotel frequently for my Business Associates who come to town. It has a very good business center, fitness area, and even in-room fitness is available.

There is a large Mall across the street with a Theater, so in case your guests want to do something on their own. There are a great # of restaurants over at the Mall as well, or even next door to the hotel is a Chili's, Ruth Chris' Steakhouse, Moe's Mexican Restaurant, and a Ted's Montana Grill. All within walking distance, or the Hotel Shuttle will take you.

There is also on-site restaurant and small bar, or just walk next door to Ruth Chris'.

The rates are usually reasonable, and the staff is always very prompt, and courteous.

I highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0112CMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Durham / Southpoint
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham Southpoint
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint
Address: 7007 Fayetteville Rd, Durham, NC 27713-8725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Durham
#6 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint Hotel Durham
Hilton Durham
Durham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing