We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

Everything about this hotel looks new. . . . the lobby, the rooms, common areas, etc. The room was spacious and had everything you needed. It was nice to have a kitchen with a dishwasher, refrigerator, and microwave. The suite was spacious, but for some reason did not come with a pull out sofa bed. I've never been in a suite hotel where the sofa did not pull out into a bed. They should have thought of this when purchasing furniture for the rooms. This was the only negative. The breakfast was good, the laundry facilities were free, and the pool was nice as we well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Durham area/

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WebBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    49
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
84
28
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2009

The price was fantastic for this high end suite hotel (Holiday Inn brand) It is the first Staybridge we have visited. Perfect location at the beginning of Durham, by route 40 and 85...so very close to Chapel Hill, which is where we go to visit our son. We have yet to find a good place to stay in CH, until this Staybridge in Durham, so we will return. For under $100 we had a two room suite with 2 flat screen tv's, a full kitchen with granite counters. Everything looked new! The breakfast offered for free offered healthy options also, like fruit, hot oatmeal, yogart, and eggs. They had the bold coffee option which is something that I enjoy. You can walk to restaurants and shopping. the outside pool was lovely, though we did not utilize it. I liked the fact that we were able to park in the shade, a plus, and use the back door with our key.
I cannot forget to mention how friendly the staff was during our visit. Friendly.
My husband and I slept better than we ever remember sleeping in a hotel. The bed was just fantastic. We were there on a busy Friday night in May, but we did not hear a sound in our room.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeourUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

We drove to NC for the weekend to visit colleges (Duke, Elon, UNC Chapel Hill) with our two teenage sons and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodations here. There was a question when we checked in about whether we had reserved a suite with a pull-out sofa (we had gone through central reservations which apparently has led to some mix ups in the past) and were given the option to view two different room types -- a 1 BR suite king w/sofabed in family room or a 2BR/2BA suite. We ended up choosing the latter and were given a discount for our inconvenience - honestly, they had the room type that we'd requested after all, so it wasn't an inconvenience but rather our choice to upgrade. In any case, we got a $20/night upgrade for only $10/night. The room was beautifully appointed, clean, and had nice amenities of 3 flat screen tvs, kitchenette, wireless internet (excellent!) and complimentary coffee and popcorn. The breakfast buffet was included and was the best free buffet we've seen -- scrambled eggs/omelets, bacon/sausage, fruit, yogurt, pastries, bread, hot/cold cereals, juice, coffee, and my sons' favorite make-your-own-waffles! The hotel is located between Durham and Chapel Hill and convenient to a variety of restaurants and shopping and the airport. The staff was very friendly and even recommended a local sports bar for watching the FInal Four games. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kgames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

This hotel is right between Durham and Chapel Hill. We were able to walk to a restaurant for dinner. It was clean and the suite was a really nice size. The bathroom was good as well. It is a great deal for the price and the breakfast was better than many!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicacbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2009

We've been coming to Durham for medical trips, every 4-6 months, for the past 3 years. We used to stay at Homewood Suites next door, and watched the Staybridge suites being built. Homewood suites has renovated their common areas, but their rooms are needing some TLC. This past trip, in February, we booked Staybridge suites, and loved it.

From my first conversation with the sales director, and right throughout our stay, was excellent. They do a quick clean of the rooms daily, and a full clean weekly. The rooms are all new and large. After our daughter's surgery, we left the 'do not disturb' sign up for a couple of days, but still managed to get the coffee and soaps etc replenished by walking into the hallway and asking the very compliant and polite housekeeper. Having the kitchenette was great, and we cooked some meals in our room.

Laundry facilities are free, with modern front-load fast machines (26 mins wash cycle), which was a great bonus to us, staying over 2 weeks.

The evening receptions on Tuesdays through Thursdays were fun, with adequate beer and wine. Some menus were better than others, but it varies over the month.

The mall gym is adequate, with good cardio machines. The swimming pool looks nice, but was closed in Feb (I think it reopens in May).

We will definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles_below
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

Exceeded our expectations. Very clean and desireable hotel. Tastefully decorated and comfortable. Convenient location with great area shopping. Without a doubt, when we come back to this area this will be our home-away-from-home. I'd recommend it to anyone. The best value for the price.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCNutmegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer Banks
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

The hotel exceeded my expectation. Everything was beautiful and everyone was very friendly. All the little touches were awesome. The popcorn, the swival tv, all the dishes in the kitchen, the wireless internet (best I ever had in a hotel room), and the amazing breakfast. When I travel I will definitely stay at a Staybridge Suites.

  • Liked — The breakfast was amazing and the accommodations were never-ending
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gr82C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Durham Chapel Hill
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Durham / Southpoint
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#41 of 70 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP

Property: Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
Address: 3704 Mount Moriah Rd, Durham, NC 27707-9029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
#9 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the Staybridge Suites Chapel Hill-Durham , a new, all-suite extended-stay hotel. We re located a few miles from Duke Medical Center, UNC Chapel Hill, Dupont, IBM, Motorola, Nortel, and GlaxoSmithKline. Guarantee the success of your next event in our smartly decorated meeting rooms, with professional planners to assist you. Take care of business in our 24-hour business center with copying and faxing services. Our spacious fitness facility and swimming pool will allow you to relax during your stay and work off the stress after a busy day of meetings. Each of our delightfully appointed suites will have you feeling like you are vacation, even if you re not. Each has a fully equipped kitchen with all the tools you ll need to whip up your favorite meals. Enjoy thoughtful amenities such as cable TV, free high-speed Internet access, and voicemail-enabled phones. Staybridge Suites is moments from all the unique, interesting attractions of the Chapel Hill/Durham area. We are convenient to the Morehead Planetarium, Studio 91, Ackland Art Museum, Triangle Theatre Festival, Wallace Wade Stadium, and the Carolina Brewery. Get comfortable it s Staybridge Suites Chapel Hill Durham! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-Rtp Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing