We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than professional front desk staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham Southpoint

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham Southpoint
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Less than professional front desk staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Room appears remodeled or new. Smells fresh and clean. The lobby atrium is open in the middle of the high rise to the top floor and has a new look with a quiet fountain at ground floor level.

Wayne, front desk staff member, although smiling, seemed to have an attitude that was less than welcoming. I asked for a different room that did not have a connecting door to the adjoining room as we arrived well after midnight and wanted to sleep in without our neighbor waking us early in the morning. It took a call from my company's accommodation desk to get my room changed, as being a Gold member wasn't enough. A couple of small things: The toilet tissue holder fell off the wall when I touched it. The toilet seat cover was not as big as the toilet. Everything else seemed to work well.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BradJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham Southpoint, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. It is only through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to correct any issues and make it right. I do apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. I understand how frustrating it must have been to have to wait at that hour to get your room changed. I have shared your insight with our staff and we hope you give us another chance next time your travels bring you to the Southpoint area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
31
12
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
205 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night and the hotel was fabulous. It used to be a Sheraton but with remodeling the hotel felt brand new. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, lobby was beautiful and free breakfast was surprisingly great! This would have gotten 5 stars except the bed was too hard for me. Staff was great! They let us check in at 10:30 am. Great stay!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gatorcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Nice beds to sleep on, very cozy, beautifullly decorated when you walk in, the breakfast is very tasty. The only issue me and my family had, was we were in double-queens rooms and there was a small frig; however, no microwave. We were told they were only in King Suites and up. Well thats was such an inconvenience. I had to go to the front desk to heat my tea, "bummer". At least put them in the vending area on each floor if you don't want them in each room, so it will not inconvenience someone who wants to hit up a meal, tea, coffee or something. Otherwise our stay was nice...

Room Tip: You want to heat up anything, I do not recommend getting double-queen beds; call to see which rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel (8:30 pm) when a business meeting ran later than expected. I booked it because of price. I was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very fresh and modern and the staff was great. Close by is a Super Target and Southpoint Mall. A fast food restaurant is located just yards away across the street. The hotel is very quiet although located near a busy thoroughfare. Breakfast was standard, but they have a great variety of teas. My only issue was that the lock on my room required holding the card at a slanted angle before it would open.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NC-travel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol2442
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed at this property before the renovations and was not pleased. I must admit the renovations and name change served them well! The decor was fabulous, the complimentary breakfast was tasty and the beds slept well. The television offered a good choice of channels as well as walking distance to target and South Point Mall. I actually wanted to extend my stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Whomever did the refurbishment of this hotel really must have been busy. It is virtually indistinguishable from a brand new hotel inside.

Check in was efficient and fast. The room was clean and fresh. Fairfield does not have the best beds in the industry but they're serviceable.

Three minor details detract from a 5 start experience.

1) The spout for the tub is loose and needs to be braced in the wall and recaulked (Rm 204).

2) The chocolate items in the market area are placed directly in front of the exhaust from the drink cooler. Thus chocolate items are melted or at least soggy. If I'm paying $2 for a Kitkat or Hershey bar, I expect it to be pristine.

3) The vinyl coating on the handrails and ladder in the pool are peeling off below the water line.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anyion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, large king room with sitting area, microwave and mini fridge. Great exercise room, clean pool and nice breakfast. Shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Ten minutes from airport and UNC. Nicer than many more expensive hotels!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank richacj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Durham / Southpoint
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint
3.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham Southpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham Southpoint

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham Southpoint
Address: 7807 Leonardo Dr, Durham, NC 27713-6458 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Durham)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#18 Business Hotel in Durham
#18 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham Southpoint 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to the Streets of Southpoint, our hotel is great for your shopping vacation. In addition, we're not far from Research Triangle, Duke University, and UNC. We also have onsite meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Marriott and Orbitz so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham Southpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Durham At Southpoint
Four Points By Sheraton Durham At Southpoint Hotel Durham
Four Points Durham
Sheraton Durham Southpoint
Durham Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing