We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Photographs without a Negative” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nasher Museum of Art at Duke University

Nasher Museum of Art at Duke University
Ranked #13 of 74 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Photographs without a Negative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent all of our time at the excellent photography exhibit. It was tremendous, featuring a wonderful cross-section of the masters of photography. We had a nice day to enjoy a tasty lunch from the cafe outside. Having to pay for parking in advance was inconvenient because you had to try and guess how much time you were going to spend inside,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank garyb859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    74
    26
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic "Cone Sisters of Baltimore - Collecting Matisse & Modern Masters”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This exhibition was exceptional. Tickets at $12 are steep, especially if you want to return a few times. Tickets shouldn't cost more than a few dollars (2 adults and 2 children = $48.00!!!0. Parking is way too expensive. The textiles and decorative arts are very average and frankly don't belong in this museum. The cafe is nice - we had great smoked salmon to celebrate Xmas) and the cafe outside should be spruced up to make it a truly welcoming place to eat.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Johhny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“SMALL BUT POWERFUL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went to the special Cone Sister's exhibit - very nicely done. Small but excellent art venue. Should have made reservations for the cafe - couldn't get in.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaryTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cone Sisters Collection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Cone Sisters collection was fabulous. The museum itself is nothing special but this particular collection was fantastic. We were with friends who don't speak English very well, so they were disappointed they couldn't have the guided tour in a language other than English. But this is a huge problem in the USA. They expect everyone to speak English. The small restaurant at the Nasher is very nice. Lots of windows and light.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Unimpressive art museum”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I go to a LOT of art museums, and am rarely disappointed. But with the Nasher, I have been. I've been twice over the past 5 years, and was not impressed either time - except by the size of the vast, light-filled lobby. The size and style of that lobby completely belies the art collection in the three galleries. That is, three, IF they are all open. There are two special collections galleries, one of which may or may not be open, depending on whether they are changing exhibits or not, and there is one regular collections gallery. The fourth big room off the gigantic lobby is an auditorium. In the corner of the massive lobby is a tiny museum shop and dining area. If I had to guess, I'd say the building was planned more for fundraising and courting donors and less for displaying art. To top it off, the last time I was there, ticketing staff were curt, if not downright rude. One of them was confrontational. When I mentioned this to my hosts in the evening, they said they'd had similar experiences with unfriendly staff. HOWEVER, the guards are really nice! And helpful and friendly. So... what is UP with THAT?? It may be that the Nasher sometimes exhibits really interesting art with really great interpretation - I'm not judging that. I'm simply saying that the art museum experience is rather poor here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank alborealis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nasher Museum of Art at Duke University also viewed

 

Been to Nasher Museum of Art at Duke University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing