We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Torero's Authentic Mexican Cuisine
Ranked #357 of 764 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
124 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

If your palate can only stand what passes for Mexican food at most places, then you'll like Torero's. The price is right and the food is well prepared, just not very authentic or imaginative.

Helpful?
Thank P-Dub56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    24
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
120 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Only Good Mexican Food We've Had on the East Coast”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We were almost scared off when the chips and salsa came out. The chips tasted like old frying oil and the salsa just didn't taste like salsa. We were already disappointed but then our plates came out. They looked great...not sloppy or boring like most Mexican dishes. The chicken was very tasty in all our meals. Great rice and guacamole! Overall, the food was very good. Five stars if it weren't for the awful chips and salsa. The prices are a bit more than the typical Mexican place but still very reasonable especially considering children eat free with adults 3 nights out of the week.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharding23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, very friendly”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I was very impressed with the quality of the food - I wasn't sure what to expect of Mexican food in NC - and the quality of the service. I highly recommend it.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food - great people!”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Five stars for excellent service - and food at very reasonable prices! My fiancée (from Mexico) and I regularly go to Torero's for the food - one of the best Mexican places in town, especially at the price. There *are* restaurants that have a bit better quality (e.g., Dos Perros), but they are *much* more expensive, and the people of Torero's are simply fantastic - friendly, helpful, fast, hard-working, attentive, everything you'd ask for in service from a place that costs five or ten times as much.

We recommend the fajitas, especially the chicken fajitas. If you get the veggie fajitas, you might ask them to grill/sauté the veggies longer than normal to get them caramelized; we do find that the veggies can be a bit undercooked (likely as a way to make them lower-fat, even though Torero's uses vegetable oil for cooking). They also have excellent flan for dessert. And, if you're celebrating a birthday - tell them! The lucky birthday person will get to wear the sombrero. Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twickertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good, standard, expected Mexican Food”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We ate dinner here one night. It has your usual Mexican fare, like thousands of other Mexican restaurants. Nothing fancy. Service was good, but the senora waiting on us struggled with our order of Dewars and water, so I had to go speak to the bartender myself to ensure we got some sort of Scotch in the glasses! They did have Dewars and it was only $4!!!! We ate outside on a covered deck. Many locals apparently eat here. There is also a large bar with karaoke on some nights, but we did not stay for anything but a nice, quick dinner and an end-of-the-day drink.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethsbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torero's Authentic Mexican Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Torero's Authentic Mexican Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing