We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food bad everything else”
Review of Champps Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Champps Restaurant and Bar
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good food bad everything else”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Went here with a large group of 14. Its a Tuesday nightb and not very packed. Took 20 minutes to seat us. After we seat the waitress took our drink orders. Probably 10 water 2 cokes and 2 diet cokes. Took 20 minutes to bring us drinks. Then 10 mins later our orders were taken. Then about an hour later our food came out and we all didnt get our food. One member of our party ate off her husbands plate and when everyone finished eating the manager ( I think) because he never introduced hisself or apologize came up to the table andasked her what she ordered. Luckiky her food was free and we got one big dessert for the whole table. Shouldve gave us two for all the mess we dealt with... good food though. Employees need to go to some service excellence training

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geepd36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    24
    18
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vincennes, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Ok place”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went here one evening after the main dinner rush, found the food to be average and the service to be not so great. The wait staff at the bar was more interested in the local patrons that were there than the 2 of us.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Indy_Fan_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not as good this time around”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

After shopping at Southpoint, we came here for dinner. Last year we came here and sat outside on patio (fun to people watch) and had some great burgers but this time felt very different. We sat inside (good place to watch sports) but it didn't feel clean to me. I almost sat down on spilled soda and the carpet was dirty. I ordered flatbread with chicken and spinach and artichoke and it came out cold (cheese wasn't even melted). They took it back and it was much better. My husband ordered the roast beef au jus and I tired his fries (nice and hot, crispy on the outside and soft on the inside) but felt the serving could have been bigger. The location is convenient and the service was OK but probably need to order burgers here for a great meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CindySGoulding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a Panther's friendly environment”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was hoping to go see a Panther's game but when I got there it was only playing on 2 screens and the main screen as well as the sound was on another game. So much for looking for a home crowd. Luckily the food and service was great!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good not great”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Typical chain restaurant food. The plus was that it is huge and had a five minute wait on a Saturday night. Another plus was the kids menu, dining with kids can be a chore and my kid tends to like the typical fair (pizza, fries, chicken fingers). While I found the food pretty bland with nothing exciting, on the flip side my 16 yr old loved the pasta. I tend to favor robust flavoring, however it was good overall. I would say pretty average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonyaf208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champps Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing