We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Italian”
Review of Pulcinella's

Pulcinella's
Ranked #130 of 765 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome Italian”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Do not judge this restaurant by the exterior! Stopped in while staying overnight in Durham. Small place, but very friendly staff and warm atmosphere. Prices moderate. The house dressing is a must try. Had the pasta with garlic and olive oil. Sounds simple, but it was delicious. The rolls and dipping oil were also wonderful. Too full to try dessert, but next time...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BMSBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    28
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
278 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Very Good Pizza”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great crust! They even have a vegan pizza which I tasted and it was very good. The lentil soup was not so good - very bland. Excellant service. Great family place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SCBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otego, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Family-owned Fantatsic!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I had the pleasure of dining at Pulcinella's for my second time last evening. This casual, family owned and operated Italian restaurant was the perfect place for a group of colleagues to gather and talk and enjoy the fabulous food and wine. The menu is varied and the staff is attentive. They offer recommendations on everything from the wines to the entrees, guiding those with gluten intolerance to the best choices, etc. Friendly but unobtrusive. The gnocchi in basil sauce was unbelievably good. The house dressing is fantastic, as was the dipping oil for the bread. Reasonably priced and healthy portions. You can't go wrong. If, however you are looking for a quite or intimate dinner, this may not be the best choice as it was very open and boisterous. Very enjoyable. It is located in a strip mall and would have been easy to overlook if it weren't for our local hosts. Don't miss this one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moharaphd
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just moved to the area so we're experimenting with trying a new place every week. This was the first Italian restaurant we visited and we may have found the best one first!

The service was excellent to start out, then slowed a bit because the place got so crowded after 6PM. That alone tells you the food is good -- it was a Wednesday night, not the weekend.

The wine selection is good and inexpensive. The portions are HUGE! I ordered bowtie pasta with broccoli and chicken and there was a ton of chicken as well as pasta. My husband ordered the lasagna and couldn't finish his dinner (he is usually able to do so). The bread was to die for. I liked the dipping mix and the salad dressing. The salad was just a plain little thing, but the dressing made it terrific.

Prices were good as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moharaphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
122 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Look close or you'll miss it!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

You know you are in for a good meal when he owner greets you with a heavy Italian accent. It may be in a strip mall, but the food says BIG CITY excellence.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank BobandPaulette1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pulcinella's also viewed

 

Been to Pulcinella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing