We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's a reason for all the napkins on the table”

Fishmonger's Seafood Market Crab & Oyster House
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Aylmer, ON
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“There's a reason for all the napkins on the table”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

And that is the shrimp. With sauce and spice and butter. And so you can wipe your fingers off so you can hold your fork to eat the mac and cheese side. Leave room for key lime pie.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank abcpastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    38
    12
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is not a fancy place with atmosphere. It's all about the food. All types of fish- broiled, steamed, fried, etc. You sit at long table and devour, as I did the mussels. Go for it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank susanlevit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, NJ
Level Contributor
193 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“fun and casual”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Enjoyed the fresh fish, salads and that great NJ sweet iced tea. This is a casual place with lots of brews to choose from, in the Brightleaf area just down the road from fun shops

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jillef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
340 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“One of my favorite Durham Lunch Spots”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I usually only write reviews when I go to a new place but I wanted to try and offset some of the negativity below.

I've been coming here for three years for lunch and I love it. I've never had an issue with service (if anything, the waiters are too friendly and at your table too much and too quick on refills but that's hardly a detraction). I usually get the steam pot but today I had a Softshell Crab sandwich and it was excellent. Everything I've had here food wise is.

That said, please remember you're going to something that Quint from Jaws would be at home in. Picnic tables, paper napkins, older building etc. etc. Expect good working man's seafood at a low price and you'll be happy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sal_Paradise767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
“Always fresh”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have lived in Durham 25 years and eat out only once a week. Fishmongers is always where we go when we are in the mood for seafood. They have many choices - fried, grilled, steamed, and even selections for non-seafood folks. Nothing is frozen - always fresh from either NC or VA (oysters). Out of towners are impressed with the no-frills ambience and REAL down-home service. They also feature local beers from Durham's awesome entrepreneurs. You can't go wrong at Fishmongers!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, Owner at Fishmonger's Seafood Market Crab & Oyster House, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks Mark we appreciate our regulars, you all make it worth while.Hard to understand why some people just do not get it. Gary Bass Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishmonger's Seafood Market Crab & Oyster House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing