We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alot of Food for a Great Price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Original Q Shack

The Original Q Shack
Ranked #6 of 760 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Alot of Food for a Great Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I use this restaurant to provide dinner for families in our parenting classes. There is always a TON of food and it is fresh. The bbq is awesome and the sweet tea can't be beat. Their cobbler is heavenly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ladybug1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    196
    47
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Brisket in NC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Located down the street from some relatives of mine, I frequent this place often. Portions are large, all the sides (and I've tried them all) are awesome, I've tried every meat they've got...but the brisket is what I come here for. Best brisket in the whole state (and I'm a big bbq fan)...must try if your nearby!

Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1,339 reviews
458 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 949 helpful votes
“great brisket and fried okra”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Don't get the pulled pork unless you like a lot of spices/hot sauce (it's not the vinegar base sauce you expect in NC). The brisket, however, is very good. I especially like their fried okra. They sprinkle some sort of red powder on it (which I don't like) so we always ask for some with just salt. They have no problem making up a fresh batch just for me. It doesn't taste like it starts out as frozen okra.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brisket to kill for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Q shack has great food all around but it's the brisket that I long for. It comes sliced or chopped. Since I prefer my meat sans sauce, I get the sliced brisket, hold the sauce. The sides are good to great. For example, I think the baked potato casserole is great. The only downside is that parking is scarce.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NCJudyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a casual barbecue restaurant with delicious food and very quick service. I had the pulled pork plate with 2 sides of creamed spinach and mac 'n cheese. Everything was delicious! My husband really enjoyed his ribs, though he said he prefers the full rack at The Pit due to taste and the size of the portion. They have outside and inside seating, and they serve beer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Q Shack also viewed

 

Been to The Original Q Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing