We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Hungry”

The Original Q Shack
Ranked #6 of 764 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Go Hungry”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The smoked turkey is good, and super filling. Nice, interesting sides. So much food! Nice to sit outside, if weather permits.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sonja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    205
    50
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Southern bbq and great tea!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Not much to look at, but the food rules. Good pulled pork but my favorite is the beef brisket piled on a baked potato. So good!!! If spice is something you crave than try their mac and cheese, as well is their deviled eggs. Tasty!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Brisket ever...”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

So in line I asked the big guy in front of me what he usually ordered, he was right. Fresh BBQ Brisket carved in small slabs piled high on a plate, garnished with hush puppies and two ides. I had onion rings and beans, you can't go wrong there!

Helpful?
Thank cprrogers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“His & Hers Sauces”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had an overnight trip to the Triangle and wanted some good BBQ. I'm a Texas sauce, he's all about the NC Vinegar experience. The Q Shack had us covered. While the onion rings are only average the BBQ was some of the best I've had - and I'm a BBQ fanatic. The Chopped Brisket was hot enough to grab my attention while the hushpuppies cooled things off enough to go back for more. The kind of BBQ that makes you wish you could move your flight and stay longer. He had the classic vinegar sauce on a pulled pork sandwich. Rated it in his top three. If my travels take me back to the area The Q Shack will be at the absolute top of my list.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank polydegmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
296 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD Q”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wow I wish this place was in my hometown..Maybe be not, I would weigh 300 lbs! The food is great and the place is clean. The prices are all right.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stehib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Q Shack also viewed

 

Been to The Original Q Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing