We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance Better than the Food”
Review of Cafe Parizade

Cafe Parizade
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Parizade is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 771 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Parizade is Mediterranean inspired culinary creations. A vast open kitchen spans the length of the restaurant. Surreal art by Henryk Fantazos adorns the walls and ceiling. Parizade is truly the crowning jewel of Giorgios Hospitality Group. *Large parties, please call the restaurant at 919-286-9712*
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ambiance Better than the Food”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The restaurant itself is beautiful and the service excellent. The food is OK with teeny tiny portions. I had a scallop dish with ravioli. The plate had exactly 3 scallops ( medium not large and not jumbo) and exactly 4 squares of ravioli. If this had been an appetizer that would have been fine, but not as an main entree. For the price, the Chef could have thrown in a lot more scallops and/or ravioli. The taste was average - not bad but not outstanding either. I don't think the cost is worth a visit unless they increase their portions significantly and greatly improve the flavor of their minuscule dishes.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LillyKate3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    87
    36
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not worth $$$ for what we got”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The food was not that good - very average but expensive. Three out of four in our party were disappointed with the appetizer and entrees but felt beet salad was good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jaimelovebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and superb service - not just for special occasions”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We dined here during Restaurant Week on a Friday night, intending to order off the special menu. Turns out, we weren't hungry enough to have 3 courses each, so we ordered from the regular menu. They were quite busy, with several large parties for high school graduation celebrations, but the service did not suffer one bit. In fact, it was superb. Our waiter was there any time we needed and was so unobtrusive that he seemed to pop up out of nowhere!

We split a Caesar Salad, which was excellent. My husband had the stuffed chicken breast and I had the seafood risotto, which was probably the best I have ever had. Instead of mixing a little seafood into the risotto, there was more seafood than rice, and it topped the risotto. There were large chunks of lump crab, scallops that melted in your mouth, and shrimp. The sauce accompanying the seafood was not overwhelmingly heavy with tons of butter, like some are. It was buttery with nice, slightly crunchy leeks. This made a very nice contrast to the tender seafood. It was actually a good value too, since there was such a large amount of high quality seafood. The portion was enough for 2 meals. Needless to say, no room for dessert.

Parizade seems to have freshened up their menu a little, and the result was excellent. We will definitely be back. If you haven't been here in a while, give it another try!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank txtravelgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's alright”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

There's always a place to eat. The food is alright and drinks are good. But the atmosphere is hurried and cold and people rush by. If there is no where else to eat, go there.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lovestwotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Dependably wonderful”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Parizade is our go-to restaurant for working dinners (with colleagues visiting the University) and for a peaceful place to re-connect as a busy professional couple in a quiet atmosphere. The food is dependably excellent, with lots of choices for weight-watching or splurging, and the service is intelligent but unobtrusive. The room is big, so there is no sense of intimacy, but maintaining a cone of privacy just never seems to be a problem - maybe because the tables are far enough apart.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knittergram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Parizade also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Parizade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing