We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place to Eat”
Review of Elmo's Diner

Elmo's Diner
Ranked #8 of 765 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ceres, Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Eat”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

recently ate at Elmo's. Heard and saw advertising and wanted to check it out. Had grilled chicken and it was quite good. Wife had a burger and it was ample size and she said it tasted very good. Took a little longer than I expected so if you are on a limited time schedule you might want to reconsider.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pastorvince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    260
    83
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
285 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“One Two punch: Quick service & quality food”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stopped in on Thursday 7/18 around noon to sample Elmo's menu for lunch. I had been here once before for breakfast with friends who introduced us to Elmos. This is one great, funky litle neighborhood restaurant with a diner, retro style.

I had a spinach salad with honey mustard dressing for lunch. The portion was large but just right. The price was also just right!!!!

Highly recommended, will never come back. Parking is an experience in itself. You may have to wait for lunch because it gets crowded. I opted for the counter and got sitted immediatley.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New favorite”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Excellent service with friendly cheerful server. Very clean and very reasonably priced. My Chef Salad was huge and delicious. Usually when I order elsewhere it's a big bowl of lettuce with a sprinkling of cold cuts on top. This was loaded from top to bottom with quality cold cuts. I ate every bit and was stuffed -- a first for me with a salad.

My husband loved his burger as well. We'll be returning often and I'm looking forward to their breakfast which I've heard is also excellent

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Masion50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great option for casual dining”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Went with 4 kids and 2 adults. We had a nice table, friendly service and fresh food. The kids got to do a coloring project.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbjefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“solid”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Breakfast at Elmo's is a must every time I visit Durham. The staff are always very friendly. The menu has something for everyone (I recommend the southwestern grits). The servings tend to be large. the prices are very reasonable. Elmo's is a Durham institution.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elmo's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing