We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit for breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elmo's Diner

Elmo's Diner
Ranked #8 of 760 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Princeton, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A must visit for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Ate here several times during my stay in Durham. Their breakfast is very diverse, reasonably priced, fresh and always delicious. Super friendly wait staff, clean. Give them a try...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    250
    81
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Hickory, Tennessee
Level Contributor
274 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Now that our daughter and her family have moved back to Durham, NC we were excited to revisit our favorite local breakfast place, Elmo's Diner. It didn't disappoint! We love the fresh and interesting menu options, with something to please everyone. The restaurant also serves lunch and dinner which we've never tried. It is a very casual, family-friendly place, perfect for dining with a toddler.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GwensGramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average eatery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were hungry and tired after a very long drive and the kids were acting up. The Diner is okay, we probably were not in the best shape to enjoy a meal in a restaurant that day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute place, great homemade food, good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Thanks to the Food network app. that shares places featured on their shows, my husband and I visited Elmo's Diner after a Duke game. I had the quiche and soup special. Both were excellent and the quiche had a great crust, you could tell was fresh and homemade. My husband just had a chicken caesar sald but said it was one of the best chicken caesar salads he's ever had. The parking even for a Saturday night was adequate. I'd recommend this cute little find to anyone passing through Durham.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaoutofAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rougemont, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I enjoy the opportunity to have my favorite meal any time I want. I love breakfast and they serve it anytime you want!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Camisa_7748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elmo's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Elmo's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing