We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dependable Fine Dining Tradition”
Review of Nana's Restaurant

Nana's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Nana's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 771 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: James St.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Dependable Fine Dining Tradition”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I've never been disappointed with the food or service. Fine dining absolutely but not stiff or stuffy. Very warm and inviting. Beautiful local artwork fills the walls. Also a small, casual bar area where you can dine.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    84
    30
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“sExcellent Food but "Different"”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went to Nana's Restaurant with great anticipation for Valentine's Day because of the great reviews. When I looked at the menu I was disappointed. The menu is not for those who are basic "meat and potato" types or even "fish" types. Squash soup, poached eggs liver pate's, duck and the like are not our style. The only starter I could handle was a basic salad. My first reaction was to leave the restaurant and find a more traditional place to dine. After some study, I found a pork entrée I thought I would enjoy and my wife chose grouper. Staying was the right decision as our meals were perfectly prepared and delicious. It was as good as it gets and the prices were moderate.
My only advice might be to check the menu on-line to make sure the choices are something you think you will enjoy. We will definitely return to Nana's but the menu is not one I could handle on a regular basis.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeBoxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Disappointing Evening”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

For all of its high ratings, this was a disappointing and frustrating experience. After being seated we waited 30 minutes for service. Could not catch a waiter's attention and went back to hostess to request assistance. After apologies, waiter worked hard to serve us, and then the kitchen delivered only four of five entrees. Chef apologized for not starting the "special" and finally delivered as the other four entrees were finished. Three complimentary desserts for the delays, but no recognition of three birthdays that we'd called ahead to say we were celebrating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Yummy!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Food and service were excellent! Really enjoyed the variety on the wine menu...I tried something new on the recommendations of the server and it was outstanding!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deni1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in a foodie town”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I'll make it easy: you give me an unlimited budget and tell me to pick the restaurant in Durham, and I will pick Nana's. Their menu always has a perfect blend of the familiar and adventurous. Their wine list is one of the best selected in the city (which is different from being the biggest), the staff are all pros and the bar is a great place to meet friends for a drink (that often leads to making a night of it with dinner).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nana's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nana's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing