We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad to have been back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nana's Restaurant

Nana's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Nana's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 761 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: James St.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Glad to have been back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had not been to Nana's in a few years and decided to go as a family last weekend. My husband and I are self proclaimed foodies and we were impressed with the new menu and the service was just right. Not fufu but friendly and courteous. Our daughter's ages 8 and 11 loved their dinners of Halibut and pork chops. My husband and I both had the tasting menu. It was delish. We will definitely be back for more.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CousinsClan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    77
    28
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for a special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Delicious food, great and service - but a little too fancy for anything other than a special occasion.

Helpful?
Thank jennybee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
217 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Still overrated.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

It's been a while since we've visited Nana's, after our last experience, but I was nevertheless enthusiastic to give it another try. Colleagues had invited us, so I came with an open mind, hoping for the best. Bottom line - the food is still mediocre and the service snobbish, unfriendly and impatient. The risotto appetizer with generally flavorless and the snapper was over-cooked and a touch fishy. The chocolate torte was just okay. So, disappointing again. I'm not sure I'd go back, even with someone else picking up the bill.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Morpheus1041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Where old meets new”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I can't believe this place has been here in Durham since 1992 and this was my first time to try it. Beautiful ambiance which can hide what going on in back(the kitchen) however this was not one of these places. The food, presentation, as well as atmosphere blended well. We were lucky to get a reservation for a "normal" slot...at six. My daughter and I had the steak, my wife had chicken. All was excellent. Even the bread they serve before dinner was excellent and homemade. The dessert we won't do again but everything else was excellent. I

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A terrific meal with dear friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This place was worth the 45 minute drive for a really lovely meal with great food, service and wine. I can't fault anything we had from the variety of breads to the really fresh everything. The only glitch was an Open table reservation issue that showed us reserved for the next night, but we showed them the accurate email confirmation and they worked quickly to accommodate our party of 4. Would go back anytime.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank careerm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nana's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nana's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing