We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. Wonderful, accommodating staff, especially Gerry at the front desk. First class breakfast, worth every penny. Very comfortable bed and well appointed room. Highly recommend to anyone traveling in the Raleigh Durham area!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Thomas Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 756 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

Exceptional brand new facility (< 6 months in operation) with pool and fitness center located blocks from the West and East Campuses of Duke University. Exceptional staff with high customer service focus. The bedding, linen and room amenities are 1st Class and the furnishing and appointments are luxurious.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is new and is in a perfect location. Walking distance to the shops on 9th street, moments, from Duke Gardens, Duke Hospital, Brightleaf Square, and the Durham Bulls Park. Easy to find, friendly staff, great value for the price. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank jacquelinet794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I often stay at Garden Inns while traveling for business and this ranks as one of the best. Stayed for just one night while visiting Duke and North Carolina with my daughter. Great location right by the Duke campus. Very friendly front desk staff, always a smile on their face when we walked by. I was bit worried as when we arrived a train went by blowing its whistle on tracks that are approximately 150 yards from the side of the hotel. When I requested a room on the other side of the hotel away from the tracks the front desk person noted that the room windows on the track side are triple pained and that no trains run after 10 pm. DId not notice any train noise the reminder of the stay. The only minor criticism is that the restaurant only appeared to have one server working breakfast. As its a buffet set-up it was not too much of an issue but the server working did seem a bit overloaded and we had to request coffee twice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drivesouth66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Came to Durham on way to DC from the Atlanta area & to check out Duke University. The front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. They checked to make sure the restaurant we wanted to go was open and printed out directions. When I said we were going to Duke, they suggested the hotel shuttle. What a bonus, super easy plus the driver was very friendly. The rooms were great and bed comfortable. Wish breakfast was included for the price. Great area to walk around and check out even with it under construction. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gracie068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn in Durham NC is excellent. Spotless, friendly, convenient, all amenities available and most importantly a very friendly and pleasant staff throughout the entire hotel. This hotel has special rooms for handicapped visitors and a special relationship with Duke University Medical Center.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Author H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great location in Old West Durham, near Duke and the Ninth Street shopping district. Hotel is located on the ridge between the Neuse and Cape Fear River basins. Right across the street was the old settlement of Pin Hook, a traveler's rest before the railroad town of Durham was established in the early 1850s. According to author, Jean Anderson... In the early days, the shiftless of society, usually addicted to vices of one sort or another, tended to congregate in Pin Hook, attracting others of their kind. The settlement included a lodging house, camping grove, brothels, grog shops, and a well for drinking water for passing travelers. In spite of the dirt and noise caused by the railroad that ran through Pin Hook, people gradually settled near the Hillsborough Road with its easy access to Durham. Because of Pin Hook's harsh reputation, Meredith College decided not to locate in the area. And, Trinity College almost decided to go elsewhere. It was not until the early 1890s, and the building of the Erwin Cotton Mills that Pin Hook would transform itself into the mill village of West Durham.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
0.7 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
1.7 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center

Address: 2102 W Main St, Durham, NC 27705-4629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: $137 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find all you need in a great location at the Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center hotel. Ideally located between Duke University and downtown, next to the bustling 9th Street entertainment district, our hotel in Durham, NC helps you make the most of your time in the area.Hilton Garden Inn Durham – University Medical Center is one of the greenest hotels in North Carolina. The hotel, which achieved the highest award of Three Dogwood Blossoms in the NC GreenTravel Initiative recognition program, was designed from the ground up to be one of the most environmentally sustainable in the state.Each morning of your stay, savor a cooked-to-order breakfast at the Pavilion Lounge before a busy day in Durham. Find all the tools you need for work at the 24-hour business center or host a meeting or event for up to 150 guests in our 1456 sq.ft. of event space. Whether it's a family dinner or an important conference, our professional team members will be delighted to help plan the details, ensuring your event is a success.Reinvigorate with a workout at the complimentary 24-hour fitness center and swim a few lengths of the indoor pool. Unwind over drinks in the Pavilion Lounge and enjoy American favorites for dinner. In the warmer months, relax by the fire pits on our outdoor patio.Retire to an inviting, contemporary guest room with a great range of amenities. Stay connected with complimentary high-speed internet access, catch up with work at the desk with ergonomic chair or relax on the chair watching the 42-inch HDTV. Stay refreshed in-room with the microwave and mini-refrigerator facilities. Our 24-hour Pavilion Pantry stocks drinks, snacks, microwave meals, and travel essentials to keep you going while on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing