We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you love college basketball, it's a must-see”

Cameron Indoor Stadium
Ranked #8 of 74 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you love college basketball, it's a must-see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is where the magic happens. No visit to Duke is complete without a peek inside. I love the banners that trace the 3 decades of success!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Collegeroadtrip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    24
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Real College Basketball Arena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Cameron Indoor was built in the mid 1900's and it retains the flavor of that era even as it is home to one of the top basketball programs. It is refreshingly different from the giant, corporate venues such as Rupp Arena. When have you seen roll-top doors at concession stands? Be sure to notice the tiny TV announcers booth up in the rafters, and enjoy the photos in the corridors.
It is not normally open to the public--we happened by during volleyball practice.
.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Cameron is one of the best places to watch basketball. The one major problem is getting tickets to a game. The stadium hold less than 10,000 seats. But if you get to go the games are loud and noisy as a game should be. The students get the lower bleachers and their enthusiasm is electrifying. It is certainly a must do if you get a chance.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dhq77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We drove from Oklahoma for my son to see this gym and the campus! He has always been a big fan of the Blue Devils! We also enjoyed the Duke Sports Hall of Fame!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Television's Deception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Maybe its just me, but I was amazed at how small Cameron actually is compared to what I see on TV. Compared to North Carolina and Wake Forest, Cameron is tiny. The aura of Duke basketball is HUGE but I never realized the difference in seating capacity. Well worth the visit. It would be much more fun to go to a game, but I don't see how I could ever get a ticket.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bimmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cameron Indoor Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Cameron Indoor Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing