We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent tapas at a fairly reasonable price”
Review of Taberna Tapas

Taberna Tapas
Reserve with OpenTable
Taberna Tapas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 765 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Market St.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
692 reviews
493 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas at a fairly reasonable price”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I love tapas, so when my son-in-law suggested we go to Taberna Tapas in Durham we were up for it. The stuffed mushrooms were excellent, as were the artichoke hearts. The shrimp flatbread was quite nice. The stuffed dates wrapped in bacon was a highlight. Both steak and chicken were very good. Don't bother with the sangria, however: both red and white are more like fruit juice than an adult beverage

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orso52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    51
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
574 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We decided to take the trip from Cary to Durham and try this restaurant based on the reviews.
We reserved a table and could only get in at 8:30 since the place is constantly fully booked.
For drinks we decided to try the red and white sangrias....both were ok but were closer to a fruit juice than a drink, with almost no alcholol in them.
Looking at the huge selection of tapas, we decided to share several.
Our favorites were Bacon Wrapped Dates, Cod, Crab and Capers Fritters and Portabella Top. All delicious.
We did not like the way they prepared the Calamares Fritos which were not lightly breaded as advertised. We also did not like the sauce in the Bistec a la Plancha which was not elaborated.
The ones we would avoid due to their lack of filling and taste were Croquettas Serrano Ham and Croquettas Chicken and Bacon.
The service was good but also inconsistent, sometimes forgetting the drinks we ordered and also taking a long time to bring them.
Next time we are in Durham we will try the Mateo restaurant that is almost next door and serves similar kinds of tapas.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Creek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Love tapas, and these are excellent”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Went with the waiter recommendations, and all were great. The steak was great. The stuffed dates wrapped in bacon were terrific. Loved the shrimp flatbread also. I will be back!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SkipperDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
290 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent GNO Dinner at Taberna Tapas”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had an excellent dinner at Taberna Tapas. There were 8 of us, and we ordered an assortment of small plates. The waitress had great suggestions of food and wine (which was 1/2 price that night). The menu was very varied (we had a mix of vegetarian and kosher eaters - it was all good). Very eclectic menu. I really liked the mussels in garlic and squash a la gratin. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claude_monnier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Many great choices”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We tried about 5 different tapas. All of them were delicious but I would say the stand-outs were the Portabella Top, Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Beet Salad. I will definitely be back to try the many other items on the menu that looked delicious such as the Flatbreads and Paella.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindellis70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna Tapas also viewed

 

Been to Taberna Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing