We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Spanish cuisine (including Basque!)”
Review of Mateo Bar De Tapas

Mateo Bar De Tapas
Reserve with OpenTable
Mateo Bar De Tapas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 770 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Spanish cuisine (including Basque!)”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Mateo's Spanish cuisine and atmosphere were both excellent. They even have pinchas (Basque canapes) with a bit of a southern influence. Patatas Bravas were as good as I'd had in Spain. Great wine and sherry list. One drawback: the bar stools were very uncomfortable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    119
    45
    13
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We shared five dishes between the two of us and that was plenty. Definitely consider the daily specials; our rabbit liver pate was fantastic. Gambas, potatos bravas and olives were also great. Terrific wine list. Be aware it is very noisy, and bring a flashlight to read the menu.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Foodiehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This place is great...but would highly recommend reservations. We always end up over ordering because there are so many things to try. I am not a wine drinker but my sister and her husband who live in the area rave about the wine selections. This place does get loud and the tables are very close together...but that is part of the atmosphere. The wait staff is very pleasant and everyone runs food, serves water, grabs empty plates, etc. very well run and great food!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flowers1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“gotta love tapas”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Better book early - very popular in Durham. The beauty of tapas is you can take your time and try lots of things - but don't think it will be inexpensive as the time and selections expands - but boy did you enjoy it. where to start - olives - wow, deviled egg with chorizo, bbq pork, garbonzos - something for everyone. Ham - oh my - iberico, smithfield, serrano - you name it - they have it - then seafood with kale and local vegetables - trout is a favorite - then pork ribs, , duck and more shell fish. Something for everyone and all delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great tasty portions”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I felt like Tapas and the hotel recommended that I try Mateo's, what a great recommendation.

It's kind of old school, long and narrow, all wood with a nice bar. Kind of a rustic vibe, a little dark.

The service was great and the menu was exceptional. No matter what your tastes, they have it on the menu. They have a great wine list and some really good house specialty drinks.

I ordered the "State Bird" to start with. It's basically a gin and tonic that is infused with saffron, really deliscious, but you have to like saffron because it's definitely infused with it.(see photo)

On to the food. I started with a Banderilla which is a small shish kabob that has shrimp, green tomatoes, guandilla peppers, chorizo and manchego cheese. really a nice combination of flavors and just the right portion for one person (see photo). I followed that up with the "mojellas al ajillo" sweetbreads in garlic. Wow! what a tasty dish, plenty of garlic, some chili served over grits, it was just perfect. I then tried the bone marrow, it was served on a board still in the bone with oxtail marmalade, pickled radish and some small bread toasts. The dish was really good, but the bone didn't really have much marrow in it. I mentioned this to my server who very quickly told me that they could bring another one or i could try something else. Then explained that it's difficult to discern whether or not a particular bone will have lot or little of marrow in it. The service was excellent, it was an honest answer and I took advantage and tried still another dish. I ordered the morcilla or blood sausage. It was served with potatoe puree, apples, nuts and pickled onion. A well balanced and flavorful dish.

I highly recommend this restaurant and will absolutely be back the next time I'm in Durham.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mateo Bar De Tapas also viewed

 

Been to Mateo Bar De Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing