We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spicy margarita; horrible parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of NanaTaco

NanaTaco
Ranked #18 of 763 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Relatively new, opened by the same people who run Nana's in Durham, but a different location and very different type of place.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great spicy margarita; horrible parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The place was packed when we showed up for dinner on a Wednesday evening. Parking is extremely limited. Signs warning you will be towed are on all the adjacent lots. We circled and circled until we found one on the street. Not too long a wait to order and grab a table. We got a side of chips and salsa which was unnecessary as all meals came with chips. Everyone enjoyed their meals but the spicy margaritas were the clear winner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    49
    14
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mexican Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The food is excellent and everything tasted very fresh. As others have said, the parking is a challenge and the restaurant itself is an old garage so it is very loud and not fancy. The portions are enormous. Our table (3 couples) ordered a little but of everything from tacos and burritos to the street corn and fried green tomatoes. The street corn on the cob was spicy and delicious. The fried green tomatoes were terrific and come with a great dipping sauce. The burrito i ordered was a monstrosity. Everyone stuffed themselves and there was plenty leftover. The staff was friendly in spite of Aline that was out the door. I would definitely come back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pacacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow !! what else can I say”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

recommended by the employee's of Nana's the previous night we had dinner, I decided to experience Nana Taco, and I'm very happy I did. Don't expect anything fancy, but it's a friendly atmosphere. You simply walk up to the order window and the menu is written all over the front boards, to include Margaritas and a great selection of beer. you are served your drinks and issued a number which you place at your table. Then this very nice Mexican lady who's primary function is to serve the food and insure all is well with your meal, delivers our order, again smiling and making feel comfortable, she was great !! I engaged her in conversation (in Spanish) and she mentioned that the cooking techniques were authentic Mexican, and I will acknowledge that the flavors that exploded in my mouth with every bite will confirm this. This is not your typical Tex-Mex wannabe place. It's a great casual dining experience with authentic flavors, the food is excellent, this place is a must for anyone looking for a great Mexican style meal, Gracias Nana Taco !!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty, Large Servings!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Very good Mexican food. Large servings. Noisy atmosphere. The burrito could easily feed 2 people and was excellent. Got our food to go and the service was very fast!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CafeTiamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loud and tasty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Don't bring your hard-of-hearing grandma here- it's a loud but festive place. Street tacos are good and the beer is cold. Not so great for kids unless they venture beyond the cheese quesadilla.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tikithedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NanaTaco also viewed

 

Been to NanaTaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing