We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duke Tower Suites and Condominiums
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Acceptable”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in November 2013 and were very impressed by the helpful and friendly attitudes displayed by staff and management. Location was good and the ability to come in and out at all hours was excellent. However, we were very disappointed by the lack of hygiene materials such as shampoo in the bathroom - especially as there are no nearby shops to be able to buy these items.
On balance, good value and well-managed, but missing in the little essentials which make a big difference.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    39
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
34
23
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tryon, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013

On a recent trip to Duke University Hospital, I stayed at Duke Tower Hotel. They offer condominiums for rent with full use of the amenities on the property. From the very beginning, making the reservation was a pleasant process. The woman I spoke with on the phone extremely courteous and helpful. Upon arrival, the check in process was simple and quick.

The one bedroom condominium itself is dated (a 1980’s flashback), it is well maintained and extremely clean. The full kitchen came stocked with plates, utensils, microwave, coffee pot, teakettle, toaster, pots & pans. Having the option to either cook or a variety of food delivered is a plus. The Bathroom had a linen closet with extra towel, soap, linens, and toilet paper. The surprise was in the bedroom, there were two brand new tempur pedic double beds, two large closets, two dressers, ironing board & iron.

The courtyard was amazing. To come back and relax in the beautiful gardens, relaxing water features, shuffleboard, mini golf, giant chess set, swimming pool, barbecue area and more was priceless.

The downsides are the TV’s and the limited channels available.

There were many people staying at the residence that were going through or recuperating from testing or procedures at the hospital. For anyone looking for a reasonably priced place to stay either short or long term I could not recommend this place more.

Room Tip: Premium rooms remodeled. Either are extremely clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed at the Condo for 2 weeks in June 2013. We requested the nicer room which included vinyl flooring instead of carpet and larger TV's. I was there with my two young daughters. It was perfect for us as my teenage daughter was taking a class on the East Campus at Duke which is a short walk away. We simply loved the outdoor courtyard because we could get outside and play chess and enjoy the sunshine. The condo also has a very large pool area and several shaded outdoor sitting areas which allow you to escape the confines of your room. The price is very reasonable and the rooms are quite spacious. The kitchen is not very well stocked with pots and pans for those planning a lengthy stay, but you can manage. For a lengthy stay, with children, or if you like to get outdoors, this place is perfect!

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room with a view of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I cannot sing the praises of the Duke Towers strongly enough!

The staff were more than friendly and accommodating. They have an on site shuttle service for pick up/drop off at the airport, service to the Duke Hospitals, and if they are available, help with groceries (Durham, regrettably, is very car dependent) for a reasonable fee (Duke patients and airport trips have priority).

The grounds of the complex are like a secluded hacienda, with two stories of condominiums (one bedroom apartments) surrounding a lush garden with nooks and crannies, great division of space, swimming pool. My daughter spent a great deal of time watching birds (cardinals and mockingbirds) chomp from the feeders and feeling the balmy southern breezes drift the scent of gardenia and jasmine. Very restful, serene, and languorous.

The apartments themselves were very clean and well appointed. Be sure to bring your toiletries! The kitchen was clean and in my unit had a microwave, coffee maker ((with filters), dishwasher, fridge and stove (and I think a toaster). There is a dinnerware service for four. Pots and pans: one small saucepan and one medium skillet. I couldn't get the can opener to work, so maybe bring some of your own basics.

Overall, a great travel bargain, with a unique non-hotel homey feel. Perfection!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Four of us stayed for 2 nights at the Duke Towers. We pulled up late at night and were immediately not impressed. The outside is dated and old. The parking lots were also worn down and there was a pile of rubble near our entrance point. The area is borderline safe for Durham as a whole. I wouldn't walk around by myself at night, but during the day- no problem. The inside our our little condo was neat. It was a table, chairs, sofa, tv, kitchenette with refrigerator, average sized bathroom and a small room with 2 double beds. The walls were all white with dated 80's decor, which we really didn't care about. The beds were super comfy! We were all pleasantly surprised by how well we slept. The kitchen comes with a coffee maker but no coffee, so we bought our own. This hotel is more of a place for temporary residency or older folks. We did, however thoroughly enjoy the courtyard area. There is a large pool which is very clean. There was life sized chess!! We brought our own corn hole boards (long story) and enjoyed them outside for a while.

Overall the area is not the best but the inside of the condo is clean and functional with comfy beds. It is close to all of downtown Durham and close to the 9th street area. I would stay here again as it was funky and different.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayakingfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer, ON
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place is better than Average but not Very Good. It is clean, well-priced, the staff is good and I didn't mind the dated decor that some have complained about. The Continental breakfast is not very continental -- everything is packaged, from the coffee in a tea bag (see my review of a nearby coffee place, Cocoa Cinnamon, and go there!) to the cellophane muffins. It's housed in the tower and it's worth the walk up the spiral stairs to see the photographs of children working in the mills though. The wifi drove us crazy. It was on and then it wasn't and there were too many sources. I consider this an essential service and this needs to be addressed by the owners.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abcpastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at this Inn recently for two nites. It is a cheap economy hotel. The room, kitchen and bathroom were most ordinary. The cabinets were cheap and painted white. The bathroom was stocked with towels etc which was helpful. There was no coffee or breakfast available at hotel either. I guess this hotel/condo is useful for someone who is staying for a few weeks. But not if you are staying for a short duration, and if not used to staying in motels. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anasoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
1.8 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
3.3 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
0.6 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#17 of 71 in Durham
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Tower Suites and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Tower Suites and Condominiums

Property: Duke Tower Suites and Condominiums
Address: 807 W Trinity Ave, Durham, NC 27701-1855
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke Tower Suites and Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Duke Tower Suites & Condominiums. We're your home away from home in Durham. Built on the grounds of the 19th century Pearl Cotton Mill nestled in historic Durham, our charming property is within a few minutes of Duke University and Duke Medical Center, and only a short drive from Research Triangle Park and many of the region's most visited locations. Staying with us, you'll personally experience the distinctive difference of Duke Tower. Whether it's relaxing in the comfort of your own fully-equipped condominium or walking through the beautiful courtyard, our special amenities combined with exceptional service from our warm, friendly staff will make your stay thoroughly enjoyable. Plus, you'll be pleasantly surprised at our very affordable rates, no matter if you stay for a day or for a month. These are the reasons our guests return again and again, and refer their friends. We invite you to stay with us and see for yourself why Duke Tower is the preferred choice of discriminating visitors for over 25 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duke Tower Hotel And Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing