We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Inexpensive Hotel Alternative”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duke Tower Suites and Condominiums
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My friends and I recently traveled down to Durham on a king of spur of the moment winter vacation. We had chosen to stay at Duke Tower due to its proximity from bars and restaurants, and I had booked a Premium suite for 4-nights, as per the suggestions on this site.

We arrived late in the evening on a Saturday, and were just looking for a nice, relaxing way to settle in. Although the office was closed, check in was easy and quick and we were ready to see our room. The condo was so nice! I was absolutely surprised and pleased at how clean and spacious it all was! The exposed brick wall added a nice touch to the whole "converted factory" feel and there was plenty of room for all 4 of us and all our stuff.

The room we had stayed in (146) was close to the pool and away from the main street. It was convenient to be close to the back parking lot where the trash bins are located, so that we could do our own housekeeping. Although they did have maid service as an option, we did not partake in the service. It truly felt like a home away from home and we didn't mind cleaning up after ourselves.

If there were any negatives about this place, they were minor. One was that there weren't really any pots or pans provided for the kitchen, minus a kettle and a small saucepan. We opted to purchase a large frying pan in order to have more flexibility in cooking meals. After all, one of the great things about staying at a place with a kitchen is saving some money by not having to eat out all the time. The other was that the two double beds in the bedroom were on wheels which kinda tended to slide around. Often times our bed would roll a bit away from the bed frame that was attached to the wall.

Overall though, the place was excellent! The courtyard was stunning, it was close to everything, and I never felt unsafe - even sitting in the courtyard during the night with a friend. Best of all, it was inexpensive! I would absolutely stay at Duke Tower again and most certainly recommend it to all travelers to the Durham area.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for a premium room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VioletteStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 117 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Reasonable stay, comfortable for guests with pets and close to wonderful restaurants and University related activities! The suites are comfortable so that you can stay in or go out and explore. Happy New Year!

Room Tip: Room 144 is near the pool and pet friendly - nonsmoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff at Duke Tower were brilliant and wonderfully accommodating for our group. We highly recommend them. A fun place, not super corporate, charming, just wonderful. We stayed there for almost two weeks, with many people in our company coming and going, and we had not a single mixup in our complicated and busy itinerary there. Kudos to Duke Tower!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeredithMonkandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

What a Great, "Reasonably priced" place to stay. A comfortable, very clean and spacious condo property. A friendly staff and very nice sized, 5' ft deep pool . A low cost breakfast is available on site. The Duke Tower is close to downtown restaurants and Jazz bars. There is also a small supermarket next door. You can't find a better value or deal anywhere. My second stay here.

The Friendly "Geer" bar and restaurant is walking distance away.. Great Burgers/ Say hello to Cristian and all the other Beautiful employees i met there.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor, just for a better overall view. No fitness center. Jogging/ walking path...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernestsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed at the Duke Tower for 5 nights while attending training at the NESCent facility about a mile away. Management has succeeded in creating a nice "home away from home" atmosphere. The pleasantly landscaped courtyard featuring a larger than average pool was very relaxing to come "home" to each evening.

The king bed in my unit, #253, was comfortable. The furnishings and appliances were better than what you'd expect at this price. The original art work hanging on the walls was an extra nice touch. My only complaint is that the bathroom vanity was uncomfortably low for me as was the shower head in the bathtub. Someone 5'5 or under would find them about right.

All in all, I would be happy to stay even longer at the Duke Tower and highly recommend it to anyone needing such an arrangement in Durham. Please keep in mind that Duke Tower is not a hotel so don't expect hotel like service. Rooms are cleaned once a week and the office is open only during normal business hours. Security is on duty 24x7.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

After reading the endless reviews of Duke Tower we decided to give it a try. Upon arrival our initial impression was worrisome. Well you can't always trust first impressions. The enormous courtyard was beatiful, cozy and well thought out. The swimming pool rivals that of any 'high dollar' hotel. We got the upgraded room and it was quite nice. Our condo had all wood flooring, nice furniture, fully equipped modern kitchen, large living room, large bedroom with HUGE bed. Quite comfy. The one night we spent was comfortable, relaxing, quiet and just plain cozy. The continental breakfast was as good as any I've had at other, more expensive hotels. The staff was all smiles and all quite friendly. We will be back.

Room Tip: Choose the room upgrade. It's cheap and well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lgarm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here for the NC Gay and Lesbian Film Festival for 2 nights. It was like a 90's beach place. Pretty rundown. It was $100/night and honestly, I didn't need a kitchen and living room... could have gotten a really nice 4 star hotel room in the area for under $100 using Priceline. The bed was lumpy, and I could here people upstairs clomping around, and also people outside yelling and running around... this place is in bad need of a makeover. It does have a nice pool, shuffleboard, and big chess game outside. And the people that work there are nice. But I'd rather spend less money and get a really nice room somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misterburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
3.3 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
1.8 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
2.6 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
6.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Research Triangle Pk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Tower Suites and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Tower Suites and Condominiums

Address: 807 W Trinity Ave, Durham, NC 27701-1855
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Durham
Price Range: $80 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke Tower Suites and Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Duke Tower Suites & Condominiums. We're your home away from home in Durham. Built on the grounds of the 19th century Pearl Cotton Mill nestled in historic Durham, our charming property is within a few minutes of Duke University and Duke Medical Center, and only a short drive from Research Triangle Park and many of the region's most visited locations. Staying with us, you'll personally experience the distinctive difference of Duke Tower. Whether it's relaxing in the comfort of your own fully-equipped condominium or walking through the beautiful courtyard, our special amenities combined with exceptional service from our warm, friendly staff will make your stay thoroughly enjoyable. Plus, you'll be pleasantly surprised at our very affordable rates, no matter if you stay for a day or for a month. These are the reasons our guests return again and again, and refer their friends. We invite you to stay with us and see for yourself why Duke Tower is the preferred choice of discriminating visitors for over 25 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duke Tower Hotel And Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing