We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the Peanut Butter Mocha!”
Review of Beyu Caffe

Beyu Caffe
Ranked #5 of 27 Coffee & Tea in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Nestled in the heart of downtown, Beyu Caffee is a Coffeehouse, Bistro, Restaurant, and Bar opening early morning for breakfast; mid-day for lunch; and staying open late night with a full bar and dinner menu. It offers live music Thursday - Saturday nights with award winning food, great service, and an atmosphere to "be you".
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Get the Peanut Butter Mocha!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The peanut butter mocha was divine and the tomato basil soup was excellent. Also tried a pita chicken sandwich - which was good. Service got very slow once the lunch crush arrived.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CafeTiamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    43
    16
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Jazz”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is one of those places that we've searched for that is geared towards adults. The atmosphere is comfortable, the menu has light fare and heavy entrees not to mention the imaginative cocktails. Their wine menu never disappoints and the service is always good.

The venue for Jazz is perfect. You can actually sit at a table, have a nice meal or snack while enjoying great music while being able to carry on a conversation. Thursday nights is our favorite with local musicians at the control.

This place is a great night out and definitely not kid friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseReaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good brunch”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The dining choices in downtown Durham just keep expanding, and you now actually have to plan ahead if you don't want to wait for a table. We ended up at Beyu because other venues were full, and we were glad that we did (it was our first visit there). The brunch menu had good variety, the food was very tasty, and service was attentive and efficient. Even the four year old in our group enjoyed himself. We'll definitely go back another time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MHerisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Find”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We landed at Raleigh/Durham Airport heading to Greensboro with rental car and we were looking for something yummy for lunch along the way. We headed into downtown Durham and decided on the Beyu Caffe..it looked inviting and we were very happy with our chose. I ordered a small roasted veggie pizza that was fresh, tasty and perfectly cooked and my partner got some sort of Asian dish that he raved about. The service was great... cozy bar/coffee house atmosphere...eclectic mix of clientele mostly interested in their mobile devices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food, jazz and coffee”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

While visiting friends in Durham we got tickets to a jazz show at Beyu Caffe. We decided to eat here as well an hour before the show was set to begin. The service was excellent and the food was great. I ordered a veggie pita and was side choices were salad or fries. I choose salad which came with a nice vinaigrette dressing. We also ordered cheese/bacon covered fries for the appetizer, my husband's entree (Cajun shrimp), coffee, cocoa and dessert all for $45.Carolyn Malachi was the featured performer for the evening and Derek Olds opened. The atmosphere was excellent and the bathrooms were really clean (in case that matters to you). Give the place a shot on Friday/Saturday night for a good show, food and an overall good time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beyu Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Beyu Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing