We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort of Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin NC, United States
2 reviews
“Comfort of Home”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

It is very nice to come to a place where they make you feel at home. The staff go out of their way to make sure everything is just right and that you are comfortable in your stay. We have been staying at the Hampton Inn at Durham for the past two years because of the great treatment that the staff there has given to us with each and every stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Patrick D,

We're so happy to have become your home away from home in Durham - thanks for taking the time to share your experiences! It's terrific to hear you always have a great stay and our staff is able to take care of all of your needs. Thank you again for your comments and we can't wait for your next visit!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    215
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
374
139
51
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were impressed by the staff. They were very helpful, always had a smile and genuinely seemed glad to be there. From the front desk attendants to the breakfast staff to housekeeping, we were well taken care of.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cathleen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Cathleen V,

We appreciate you reviewing our Hampton Inn & Suites and for your kind words regarding our staff! It's great to read you felt well cared for & enjoyed your visit overall. Thanks for your high ratings and we hope it won't be too long before your next stay!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Enjoyed our stay - including going to a movie across the street. Good aspects - Nice environment, wonderful suite (as another reviewer pointed out - it includes a cool room divider/desk with a flat moveable screen TV), convenient to Duke University (which was our goal) and I thought it had a wider variety of breakfast offerings than the typical Hampton Inn. Only bad aspects were an incredibly slow elevator, thin walls that made me wake up whenever anyone in the room upstairs turned on the shower or used the toilet, oddly uncomfortable bedding (pillow case felt rough) and it's a tad complicated to find/access the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Sally O,

Thank you for choosing us again and leaving a review of your experience! I'm glad you had another good stay and loved the layout of your suite. I do apologize, however, for the aspects that fell short of your expectations and our team will discuss your comments to help make everything as comfortable and quiet as possible. Otherwise, thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed over a period of 3 months for 2-4 nights a week and felt the staff was attentive to my needs and very friendly. Would recommend if you are in need of lodging in this area. Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Pat S,

Thank you for choosing us for your extended stay and taking the time to share your feedback! It's great to read you found our staff so friendly and helpful and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. We're grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board and look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Durham! Thanks again for your review.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The good: To get this level of suite for the price we paid was fantastic. The room was more than enough for the four of us and included a smartly designed desk/room divider where you could swivel the flat screen TV either toward the two queen-size beds or toward the couch. The room was immaculate an included a wet bar with mini-fridge and microwave. The beds were very comfortable. No view, really, other than the freeway (some noise from trucks, etc.). On the other hand, if you want super-fast access to the freeway and proximity to the Duke University campus or downtown, this is an excellent choice.

The hotel was packed because of a wedding, so when we went to get breakfast after 9 am on a Sunday much of the food was gone, coffee depleted, and there was a stiff wait to make waffles. You may want to ask at the desk about hotel capacity and plan accordingly. Under regular circumstances, breakfast would have been fine. The breakfast is free and more than adequate, but this isn't The Adolphus. Parking was no problem despite the large number of people.

A few other things… The elevators were packed and slow. Taking the stairs isn't a great option because they exit the side of the building. The desk clerk couldn't load credit card information regarding Hilton Honors Points into the system, which added time to checking out, and the pool was a bit small and chilly (but very clean). Other than those minor points this was a great place to stay and we definitely would again.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from elevator or get a room away from the expressway if noise is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Tom L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your visit. I'm delighted to hear you felt you received excellent value for your money and enjoyed all of the amenities in your guest room! I do apologize for the inconvenience you ran into with our breakfast and elevators and our team will discuss your feedback in order to help improve our service when we are very busy. Otherwise, thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the area!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Modern hotel. Not fancy, but comfortable and safe. Yep. Modern hotel. Not fancy, but comfortable and safe. Modern hotel. Not fancy, but comfortable and safe. Have I reached the 200 character minimum yet?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Brian G,

Thank you for your review - we're glad you had a comfortable stay and appreciate your high ratings! We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Durham.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed at the hotel the last weekend of May, and everything about it was wonderful. The facility, staff, and rooms were lovely. In particular, front desk agent Crystal, was extremely helpful and friendly. I would totally recommend this property!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLove90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear TravelLove90,

Thank you for your review and praise for our staff! I'm pleased to hear you had a terrific stay and we really appreciate your recommendation. Thanks again for your comments and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.9 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
6.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
1.8 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Address: 1542 N Gregson St, Durham, NC 27701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest on a comfortable king or queen-sized bed in one of our 137 spacious guest rooms and suites. Each room is equipped with free WiFi acess, a 37-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator and microwave. Studio Suites come with pull-out sofa beds, making them ideal for families visiting Durham, NC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing