We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stay at this Hampton Inn every time that I am in Durham, which right now is about every other week. The staff is always friendly and attentive and the facility and rooms are always very clean. It's not far from Brightleaf Square which has some nice restarants in it and Tripp's Restaurant (American fare and steaks) is right across the street. It's also very convenient to I-85 and the Northgate mall is within walking distance.

I have tried a couple other hotels in the area but always regret it. Breakfast is ok, on par with other Hampton Inns, but at least it's a meal in the morning included with your room.

Room Tip: I like staying in the King Studio rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Kevin M,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and we're delighted to hear that we've become your home away from home in the Durham area, as well as that you find our location to be so convenient for your needs. Providing a clean, comfortable stay alongside friendly service is our goal so I'm glad we've succeeded in this for your visits. Thanks again for your comments and we'll see you soon!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 847 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this Hampton twice since it opened within the last year and really enjoyed both times. Rooms are very nicely appointed, extremely quiet. The decor of this Hampton is nicer and more pleasant than some of the older properties. Staff was great and Hotel is convenient to most anywhere you want to go in Durham. Coffee is fantastic and standard breakfast fare is fine. I do wish the Hampton Brand would do a little more with their hot breakfast offerings. Will definitely use again whenever in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Eddie H,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our Hampton Inn & Suites and are very happy to read that both of your stays with us have been excellent. I'm glad that you find our staff to be very friendly and accommodating and that you love all of our furnishings. Thanks again for your review and we can't wait for your next visit!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Looking for a nice hotel at a great price? You won't beat this place. Clean, nice rooms; helpful staff; great location to downtown Durham. We were very pleasantly surprised with the staff's professionalism and the quality of our room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Lane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Lane B,

Thanks so much for reviewing your recent stay and I'm delighted to read that you had a fantastic stay all-around and that our location was great for your needs. We're grateful for your kind words regarding our staff and look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Durham! Thank you again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

When checking in, the desk clerks were very nice and we were pleasantly surprised when they gave us a coupon for a restaurant that was within walking distance. We had a nice room . Will be coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Susan H,

Thanks for taking the time to share feedback regarding your stay at our Hampton Inn & Suites! I'm pleased to read that you had a great stay overall and that our staff was so friendly and helpful. We appreciate your high ratings and can't wait for your next visit! Thank you again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I tried to find a hotel in downtown Durham and this was the closest location I could find. Hampton Inns are consistently clean and function well. A choice of pillows would have been nice. Breakfast is a nice idea and coffee was good. What are egg nuggets?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 393daphnec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thanks for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I'm happy to read that you had a clean and comfortable stay and that our location provided convenient access to downtown Durham. Our team will discuss your other feedback as well- thank you again for the review and we hope to see you for another stay soon!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Quick overnight stay with family, no problems. Generally clean and fresh, does seem to be a "newer" Hampton. Has the typical Hampton amenities, but with a bit nicer decor. Near interstate highway but quiet. Breakfast hot and cold items like most other Hamptons, nice clean, well-stocked breakfast area. Would love to see some recyling!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear VacaBird,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our Hampton Inn & Suites and glad that your stay with us was a good one! I'm happy to hear you had a comfortable, quiet stay and enjoyed our furnishings. Thanks for your other feedback as well and we hope to see you for another stay soon! Thank you again for the review.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We only stayed for 1 night while visiting family, however we were impressed! The hotel appears new and the room was great for our family of 2 adults/2 teens. THe staff was very friendly and breakfast was good. We did not get a chance to use the pool but it looked great!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear luv2travel1517,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel; we're very pleased to read that your visit was a great one and hope you had a fun time visiting your family! I'm also glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and hope you will be able to check out our pool on a future visit. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.9 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
1.8 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85

Address: 1542 N Gregson St, Durham, NC 27701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: $130 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest on a comfortable king or queen-sized bed in one of our 137 spacious guest rooms and suites. Each room is equipped with free WiFi acess, a 37-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator and microwave. Studio Suites come with pull-out sofa beds, making them ideal for families visiting Durham, NC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing