We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short but Enjoyable Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Short but Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here with my wife in May 2013. Our stay was only one night because we were just transiting through town on our way to SC . We arrived late, but checkin was very quick. The room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was included. It was a typical continental breakfast, but they did have some hot items. The hotel seemed pretty crowded, but they did a pretty good job of keeping the breakfast bar stocked. Checkout was also very quick. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear BizTraveler81,

Thank you for reviewing our Hampton Inn & Suites. I'm very glad to hear that you had a great stay and that our service was efficient even though it was busy! We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in Durham. Thanks again for your review!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    195
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
343
127
48
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This seems to be a newer Hampton. It's in a quiet, conveniently-located area. Across the small street is Wells Fargo Bank and Tripp Restaurant. Down a little ways is a shopping mall. I'm not a shopper so I didn't check that out ... can't tell you what kind of stores were there. I like the Hamptons because they serve hot breakfast in the mornings, which is so convenient. It's the usual Hampton fare but it's good. The room was nice, the personnel were great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KalihiKid65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear KalihiKid65,

Thanks for writing a review of your recent stay; we are indeed a fairly new property! I'm glad to hear that our location was convenient for your needs and that you liked our complimentary breakfast. Thank you again and we hope to see you the next time you're in Durham!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I need to stay in Durham for about a week at a time. The Hampton Inn is a great home base. The rooms are well appointed for a business travelers (lots of easy to access plugs for your equipment). Breakfast is plentiful, if not particularly savory. No need for a restaurant at the hotel since Durham has many places to eaty

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis area
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

As we have come to expect at Hampton Inns, we enjoyed a wonderful night of restful sleep at this location. We stayed one night and were pleased with everything. The fitness room was well-equipped and all machines were operational. Breakfast was the usual and sufficient. Service was great. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Memphisnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear memphisnative,

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay; I'm very glad to read that we were able to meet your expectations for Hampton! We appreciate feedback regarding all of our amenities and are happy that you found everything in our fitness room to be in working order and that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. Thanks again and we hope it's not too long until your next visit!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Having been a road warrior for 8+ years, I have stayed at a lot of Marriott and Hilton properties.. quite a few. I gotta say, I REALLY like this property. It looks new and the customer service was really good. The best part, however - for me, was the room. I very much enjoyed the decor and the desk/work-space in the room. The room was clean and very comfortable overall. Will definitely be coming back here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Road W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear TheOldWarrior,

Thanks for reviewing our hotel, I'm delighted to hear that you found your guest room to be so well-furnished! I will be sure to pass your kind words on to the rest of our team. It's also great that you found our guest service to be so helpful. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a genuinely great place to stay. The rooms/suites are spacious, thoughtfully planned and decorated. Spotless and fresh, nice linens and pillows. Excellent breakfast in an attractive atmosphere. We didn't use the indoor pool, but it looked very nice. Also, the front desk staff is just wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Nickelman,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hampton Inn & Suites. I'm happy to read that you had a great stay and found your guest room to be so clean and spacious, as well as that our staff was able to take care of all of your needs. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you for another stay soon!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our family spent one day/night at the Hampton Inn - Durham earlier this month. The hote was clean and the staff very pleasant. My daughter liked making waffles at the free hot continental breakfast. A good stay for our family...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lewf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear lewf,

Thanks for reviewing our Hampton Inn & Suites - our waffle maker is a favorite of many of our guests, so I'm happy to hear your daughter enjoyed it as well, and also that you had a good stay overall. We appreciate hearing from you and hope it won't be too long before another visit!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
6.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
2.9 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
7.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
1.6 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#12 of 70 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Address: 1542 N Gregson St, Durham, NC 27701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest on a comfortable king or queen-sized bed in one of our 137 spacious guest rooms and suites. Each room is equipped with free WiFi acess, a 37-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator and microwave. Studio Suites come with pull-out sofa beds, making them ideal for families visiting Durham, NC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing