We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Grifton, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very clean and new. The bathroom was the best hotel bathroom I have ever been in.Really enjoyed staying here and the staff was great. I actually left all of our hanging clothes in the room closet. I thought I would never see them again. The staff made sure I got all my items back and was very kind and understanding about it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Our staff is really working hard to keep this place very clean on daily basis.Your comments are very rewarding for their hard work.I am glad to hear that you have received your cloths back.We are here to serve you !Looking forward to see you again in near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    215
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
374
139
51
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a new 2012 Hampton Inn. Everything was perfect and the staff was very professional and friendly. There is a Tripps restaurant across the driveway. You will need to drive to any other restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarheel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review! Glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us.Looking forward to serve you in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very new and the rooms were quite spacious for a family of five. Two queen beds were separated by a desk with a TV from a living area with a pullout sofa. Having sink separate from the shower was great for getting ready while someone was showering. Kids liked the pool. Breakfast was just okay and monotonous for more than one night. Staff was friendly. Only complaint is how difficult it is to access hotel from highway. Address is on Gregson but you can't turn in from Gregson. You have to go across three lanes to Club and then head back to the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jrgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the spacious room and it really worked out for your family of five!It sounds like you had Two Queen/Studio Suite. We will monitor our breakfast area and try to improve! I am sorry to hear that you had bit inconvenience to get to our property from I85. For future reference take exit 176 from I85 and make a left at first stop light(Gregson St.) and we are on the left. We thank you for choosing your stay with us and looking forward to serve you in near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel makes you want to stay another night and then another night,etc.! The hospitality is wonderful! Yes, I understand they are a business and want to make money, but they really went the extra mile for us! We were in town for a funeral and Alex went the extra mile to ensure we received the accurate information and care, room and southern hospitality! Alex expressed his concern and condolences several times. Reservations by phone: wonderful! Check-in: wonderful! (even on a busy Friday night) Breakfast: delicious, wide variety of items and a wonderful lady came around to check on us and fill up our juice cups. (Never experienced that in a hotel breakfast area). Beautiful and comfortable rooms and restrooms!! When you stop by please tell Alex his friends from VA said HELLO!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAis4Lovers04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Wow!!! Thank you so much for your excellent review! Your comment is really rewarding for our staff here.Glad to hear that you really enjoyed the service and hospitality! I will share your comments with Alex and the rest of the team members here.See you in near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Beautifully decorated room, with outstanding bed & bath. Nice, small indoor pool, with sun deck adjacent to it. New & high quality equipment in fitness room. Very good breakfast & evening cookies. Easy to access location. No restarant, but a good Tripps Restaurant right across the road. (Ask the front desk for a shrimp appetizer coupon - which was delicious.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyKD459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you really like the decoration of our rooms here as well the rest of the amenities.We will be keeping our breakfast menu enjoyable to you and of course the cookies.Looking forward to see you in near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a new Hampton Inn. It is clean and has a lovely dining area for breakfast. This is the only Hampton conveniently located close to Duke University and the Medical Center. All the bells and whistles are appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrajay92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review! We are glad to hear that you have really enjoyed your stay with us and it was convenient to Duke Medical/Duke University.Looking forward to serve you in near future. Thanks, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay and so close to Duke. You can walk to east campus. Very nice rooms and good service. I would love to spend another night here. (By the way, there is a mall right by the hotel. It was very convenient!)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hippo1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. We are glad to hear that you really enjoyed our property,staff, location and service here.We will share your comments to our staff here.Looking forward to serve you in near future. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
6.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Address: 1542 N Gregson St, Durham, NC 27701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest on a comfortable king or queen-sized bed in one of our 137 spacious guest rooms and suites. Each room is equipped with free WiFi acess, a 37-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator and microwave. Studio Suites come with pull-out sofa beds, making them ideal for families visiting Durham, NC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing