We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand Spankin New”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This was on my painfully long journey home. Its right off the highway and was perfect for a quick nights rest. Staff was friendly enough but seemed a little off their game when checking me in and out. Bonus is that Tripps is less than a block away with great food and drinks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quentin g, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thanks for the insights! We continually coach and mentor our staff to achieve excellence. We are grateful that Tripps is right there. It is almost like we have a restaurant in house. Come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

833 - 839 of 847 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2012

I stopped at this Hampton Inn for one night on my way south. The room was very welcoming and clean. I love the Hampton Inn beds and since I was very tired from a long day on the road, I settled right in as soon as I arrived. The bathroom was great (except that no hotel bathrooms have good lighting for women), with a huge shower and a shower head that was actually taller than I am. The TV was better than a most I have had recently in hotels and it was easy to use. The breakfast was the usual Hampton Inn variety. I really like the fact that they have oatmeal. The staff from the front desk to housekeeping to the woman working the breakfast room were friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaSoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We needed to find a nice place to stay in Durham, close to the Durham Performing Arts Center. Really wanted something nice, clean, safe, and comfortable. Well guess what!? We found it at the Hampton Inn & Suites!
The new hotel was beautiful! Very clean and nicely appointed with an indoor pool and fitness center. The room was very clean, and the best ac I have ever experienced! Absolutely no noise from outside or other rooms. Loved the shower! Who really uses tubs anymore? The breakfast was great, especially the waffles.
Service was awesome! Everyone was helpful and very friendly.
Will definitely stay here the next time I come to Durham!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexusjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We were in Durham visiting Mrs. Red Sox Nation's aunt and uncle and chose this hotel because it was halfway between thier house and Bullocks. I think we were the first people to sleep in the room. Very nice and a very comfortable bed. Staff was very nice on check in and check out, breakfast was the acceptable standard Hampton Inn fare. There is a pretty good restaurant across the parking lot, we received a free desert complements of the hotel.

It offers easy access to I85 andto Duke.

This will be our choice when we are in Durham visting relatives

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedSoxNation1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quentin g, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thanks for feedback. We are very fortunate as far as location. Right off the interstate, minutes from Downtown and Duke University, great restaurants close by, etc. We are glad we could satisfy your needs and wants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We were only here one night, but really enjoyed our stay. Our suite was spacious and the sofabed was comfortable for the fifth person traveling with us. The facilities were in great condition and the kids enjoyed the pool. The only real negative is that your dining options are limited as there aren't many restaurants around. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomeSouthernGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for business and was pleasantly surprised with the staff and the room. The room was immaculate and everything was perfect. I will definetly stay there again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derikk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quentin g, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thanks a lot for the compliments. We take pride in the quality of our staff as well as the cleanliness of our rooms. All the credit to them. We look forward to having you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I was looking for a nice place to stay while visiting my son at college in Chapel Hill NC. Thankfully, I found this hotel through AAA the rate was great rate and I was so pleased with my stay. I had a king suite which was perfect for my son who decided to sleep over. The room was quite large and sectioned off so if someone wanted to stay up late they could without disturbing others. There was a nice flat screen TV that you could swivel in different directions.The mall is within walking distance and there is actually a cross walk which makes it safe to cross the intersection. There is a restaurant in the same circle as the hotel and it was open quite late. The staff was quite friendly and nice! The hotel is only a few months old so everything is practically new. Parking does become scarce later in the evening but there is additional parking. The only negative thing was the breakfast the selection was lacking taste and there was not enough variety. We ended up stopping at an I Hop on the way back home.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TG-NC-CHIC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quentin g, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

We are glad you were able to enjoy your time. Hampton Inn did a great job with the new rooms layouts. Classy, spacious, and functional. Thanks for the insights about breakfast. We will take note of your comments to improve what we offer to our guests. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.9 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
1.8 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85

Address: 1542 N Gregson St, Durham, NC 27701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: $130 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest on a comfortable king or queen-sized bed in one of our 137 spacious guest rooms and suites. Each room is equipped with free WiFi acess, a 37-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator and microwave. Studio Suites come with pull-out sofa beds, making them ideal for families visiting Durham, NC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing