We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for breakfast”
Review of Scratch

Scratch
Ranked #90 of 774 Restaurants in Durham
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Burlington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This bakery cafe has a wide selection from donut muffins and biscuits to crostatas and grits. Also, they have great coffees. We went on a Sunday morning and they were quite crowded, but they willingly brought out more folding tables and chairs to set up outside when there wasn't an available place for us to sit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    34
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent local home-made breakfast”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is our second time there and is a great attraction to Durham. Food and service are great but the place is popular Saturday am and can be difficult to sit. But the staff is great and the food is local and fresh and excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding Pies”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Scratch provided the "wedding pies" for our son's wedding as they chose not to have the traditional wedding cake. They were incredible and I wished I had taken a couple of them home.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, GA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try the London Fog”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place to grab a slice of chess pie and a London Fog (Earl Gray Tea Latte). We went 20 mins prior to closing and everyone was very friendly and cut into a new pie just for us. Great experience!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank matthewycarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simplify4y@ymail.com
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Never A Disappointing Item”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I love this place! My favorite items are the empanadas and the tarts are delicious. Often the cucumber lemonade and other interesting drinks quenches my thirst. This food is good and most of it is local. Perhaps this is why the cost is so high. It is terribly expensive for what you get. This is the only drawback.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinghounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scratch also viewed

 

Been to Scratch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing