We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will not be staying here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“will not be staying here again”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I decided to stay at this hotel after seeing another TripAdvisor user report that they were allowed a late check out. Unfortunately, that was far from my own experience. I had a flight later in the evening and was hoping to check out at 3 pm--the best the manager could offer was 12:30 pm. Really, all you could do was an extra half hour on top of the standard check out time?? I don't believe my request was unreasonable at all, considering the housekeeping staff is usually tidying up rooms until late afternoon. Unfortunately, the guest did not come first in this instance.

Although the room was generally clean, there were scattered hairs on the sheets and in the bathroom that were not mine. Red mold/mildew all over the shower head in the bathroom. Mini fridge and microwave is a nice touch for business travelers. Bathroom towels were some of the softest I have come across. Bedding was a little lacking however--just one bed sheet on top of the mattress without an additional mattress cover.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleepyleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgabe, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed the convenience that the microwave and refrigerator had to offer as well as the softness of our HGI towels. We are sorry that we could not provide a later check our during your stay. Often midweek when the hotel is sold out, we are unable to offer 3 PM check outs as we would be unable to properly and thoroughly clean the room for the next guest. If your travels bring you back to the area again, please contact me directly (Tor Gabrielson 919 941 6066) ahead of your arrival and I will inform you ahead of time of late check out availability. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    158
    84
    23
    11
See reviews for
134
83
47
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Good location, clean rooms- but the adjustable beds were awful, noisy and completely uncomfortable. Hi, Med. Low setting- it didn't matter.Clerks very friendly. Sat nite and only one person bartending, waiting tables, and doing room service.

Room Tip: One not near the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmomCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgabe, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thanks for the kind words regarding the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the rooms. We appreciate it. I am sorry that you did not find our GSS beds to your liking. If your travels bring you back to the area, please contact me ahead of time and I will insure that our engineering staff inspects your bed to make sure that it is as comfortable as possible. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great hotel that is convenient to Cary, Durham, Chapel Hill and Raleigh. The only complaint I have is that the sheets and bed could've been a bit softer, but everything else was great! The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly. It's exactly the quality you'd expect from the Hilton family of hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Tabitha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgabe, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our property and the kind words regarding our staff. We are always happy to hear great reviews regarding the Hilton Family of hotels. I am sorry that you did not find the bedding as comfortable as expected and ask that if you decide to see us again you contact me directly ahead of your stay and I will insure that the sheets are fresh, soft and comfortable. Prior to a future stay, please contact me, Tor Gabrielson, at 919 941 6066. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Excellent staff and location. Prompt transportation service to and from airport. In house restaurant was quality experience. Very convenient for RTP interviews. If returning to Durham, I will reserve at the Garden Inn. Quiet room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgabe, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thanks, it really sounds like you enjoyed your stay. From our airport shuttle, to our great food to quiet rooms, our staff strives to make sure that all stays are fantastic from start to finish. We hope that your interview went great and wish you the best of luck in the future. If your travels bring you back to the area, please stop by and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This HGI is #1! Highly recommended! The best hotel in the Research Triangle Park! The hotel has a WONDERFUL st & FRIENDLY staff who are always ensuring that every guest feels at home. The hotel is always fresh and clean. Hotel amenities meet every type of travelers needs. The Great American Grill serves breakfast and dinner. Overall, HGI is the #1 hotel in RTP!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgabe, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Wow! Thanks for the great review. We certainly appreciate it. When we hear that someone feels that our hotel is a "home away from home" we realize that we have accomplished our goals. It is the greatest compliment that a guest can pay us. We believe that travel should be a luxury as opposed to a burden and are certainly happy that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon at your "home away from home"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This Hilton Garden Inn is a great place to stay while in the Raleigh-Durham-RTP area. Very convenient. Very nice and clean and the staff and accomodations were excellent. I recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgabe, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for the great review and referral to other business travelers. We have strived to create an atmosphere that is comfortable and inviting to both our business and leisure travelers. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed for a week taking care of family issues. This is a great hotel. Most clients were business related types. The establishment had technical and business seminars going on daily. They also have a chef who prepares fresh meals. Their bar was hoppin with ample space for various needs. One night a week live music was provided. Excellent fun for all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgabe, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you had a great stay. We will share with our food and beverage staff how much you enjoyed our fresh, cooked to order food as well as our Wednesday night live music. We are glad that you enjoyed the "home away from home" atmosphere during your week with us. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham Airport at Research Triangle Park
11.0 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle
9.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh Durham / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park
Address: 4620 S Miami Blvd, Durham, NC 27703-8428 (Formerly Wyndham Raleigh Durham-Research Triangle Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
#9 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park is conveniently located off Interstate 40 in Research Triangle Park, Durham, North Carolina, only a quick five minute drive from Raleigh Durham International Airport (RDU). The hotel is adjacent to Research Triangle Park, a global epicenter of Research & Development hosting Fortune 500 companies such as IBM, GlaxoSmithKline, Bayer CropScience, Syngenta, Avaya, Cisco & many others. We are minutes away from the Durham Bulls Athletic Park, the RBC Center- Home of The Carolina Hurricanes, The Durham Performing Arts Center, & the North Carolina State Fairgrounds. Our hotel is located within 15 minutes of Duke University, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill & NC State University. Located 3.5 miles from the Raleigh Durham Airport, our hotel provides complimentary airport transportation plus transportation within a five mile radius of the hotel including Research Triangle Park & Streets at Southpoint Retail and Restaurant Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Wyndham
Wyndham Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing