We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I do not like these beds.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Viejo
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I do not like these beds.”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stay at the Hilton because the beds are comfortable. I was here for business so I didn't have the time or patience to ask for another room. The bed was like a brick and I had a hard time sleeping. The next morning I checked out and was informed it was a new bed that has a dial that no one explained upon check in. I will say that the staff was very friendly, the rooms were average and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caltex010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    158
    84
    23
    11
See reviews for
134
83
47
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
311 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here to catch a morning flight. The hotel didn't charge us to leave a car parked there for a week - which was very nice. The hotel has an airport shuttle - but it doesn't always run. The desk clerk said she didn't get advanced notice - it just varied as to whether they had a shuttle or not. we were headed to the airport and - you guessed it - it was one of those "not" days. We needed 2 cabs and the clerk called and got them quickly. She paid for one of them since the shuttle wasn't running. I figured paying for a cab was not a big deal since they weren't charging me to leave a car. When we returned the shuttle was running so it was not a problem.

The hotel itself was pretty standard. They had a family reunion that had a lot of people in the lobby and hanging around. However it was generally pretty quiet and convenient.

My only advice is to clarify the shuttle issue if you need it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sbccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

The hotel and room is nicely decorated. Complimentary bottled water upon check-in and coffee provided in the lobby. Free wi-fi with a strong signal. The room had a mini-microwave and a mini-fridge. Nice bright lighting around the room. The only area that was too dark was the cubby where the coffee pot was kept. The light near the door wasn't enough to light that area. The adjustable bed and many pillows was very comfortable, but the platform the mattress was on creaked every time you moved. Had a room on the back side of the hotel on the third floor. I was awakened the second morning by banging outside from some sort of delivery truck. The occasional trains passing by in the back did not disturb our sleep. They leave earplugs on the night stand should you need them for sleep. The majority of the staff was friendly, confident and displayed a sincere effort to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. There was a bit of a glitch with the tv stations in our room, which required my husband to watch the game in the bar, while the problem was being fixed. We were given vouchers for breakfast the following morning, which was a nice gesture, making up for the tv issue. They have a nice variety for their breakfast buffet, which costs $10.95. The restaurant area is large and comfortable. This hotel is conveniently located off I40.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank INSCNOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A friend and I stayed at this hotel for a day while in Durham. The rooms are very nice, updated and clean. The check-in/out staff was courteous and professional. Free wifi was available and there was plenty of parking. We got an outstanding price since we were staying on a Friday and this hotel seems to cater to business travelers. The only complaint I had was that there was some traffic noise at night given that the highway was close to the hotel. It wasn't constant, but it did bother my sleep a little since I'm not used to it. It seems like this would be a problem on the front or backside of the building, though I was on the front side.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATL-travel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very nicely decorated, it has a bright, hip vibe and had a HHonors specials to encourage eating and drinking in the restaurant and bar. Several people down there having a good time when I arrived, and desk staff were super fast and helpful. Super comfy bed and well decorated in the rooms as well. And you can't beat the location - convenient for the airport and major highway. All around great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bchgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Convenient hotel close to the airport and interstate. Good breakfast choice. Ate in the restaurant a couple of times and the service and food is good. Staff are efficient and friendly. This is the second time I have stayed here on business this year and will stay again for the comfortable, hassle free experience.
One little niggle, would be nice if there was some bottled water in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Synodita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel feels very new. It is bright, and clean.
The staff were friendly.
Notice to business travelers -- My flight was delayed and I arrived to the hotel around 10:30. The restaurant is closed, and I was told that there is no room service after 10. I was told that I could order pizza or maybe Chinese food to be delivered. I did not get any food delivered, but wished there were more options for business travelers who arrive late.
Overall -- Everything was fine, and in working order. I have stayed at other hotels in the area, and this is a bit better than others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusTraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear BusTraveler40,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found the hotel “Clean, Bright, and Efficient”. Also, you said better than other hotels in the area.

I can understand your disappointment when you found upon your arrival that the restaurant did close at 10:00 PM. Another option you can use when staying at our hotel is by going to our Pavilion Pantry just off the front desk. There you can find Stauffer frozen meals that you can heat up in your microwave in your sleeping room. And of course it does sound as though the staff offered options for food delivery services.

Our staff looks forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Heather Schaffnit
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham Airport at Research Triangle Park
11.0 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle
9.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh Durham / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park
Address: 4620 S Miami Blvd, Durham, NC 27703-8428 (Formerly Wyndham Raleigh Durham-Research Triangle Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
#9 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park is conveniently located off Interstate 40 in Research Triangle Park, Durham, North Carolina, only a quick five minute drive from Raleigh Durham International Airport (RDU). The hotel is adjacent to Research Triangle Park, a global epicenter of Research & Development hosting Fortune 500 companies such as IBM, GlaxoSmithKline, Bayer CropScience, Syngenta, Avaya, Cisco & many others. We are minutes away from the Durham Bulls Athletic Park, the RBC Center- Home of The Carolina Hurricanes, The Durham Performing Arts Center, & the North Carolina State Fairgrounds. Our hotel is located within 15 minutes of Duke University, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill & NC State University. Located 3.5 miles from the Raleigh Durham Airport, our hotel provides complimentary airport transportation plus transportation within a five mile radius of the hotel including Research Triangle Park & Streets at Southpoint Retail and Restaurant Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Wyndham
Wyndham Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing