We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Outdated Hotel That Thinks Its A Resort”
Review of Millennium Durham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Millennium Durham
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed March 5, 2011

This hotel is the hotel that time forgot. Especially the rooms themselves. WAY outdated, old and rundown. In desperate need of renovation. The staff I passed in the hall were friendly, but the front desk person (Michelle) when we checked in was abrupt, abrasive and very difficult to understand.

This hotel charges $5/day. They said it was a "resort" fee. This was a joke. The only amenities were an indoor pool and weight equipment. They said the $5 was also to cover the business center. We laughed when they told us what the $5 was for and the nicer front desk person (at check out) removed the charges.

The lobby bar is very nice and welcoming, although I can't say how the service was because we never went in. After waiting 13 minutes for two pieces of toast at the restaurant, I finally just cancelled the order and went back to my room.

Our room overlooked their courtyard. I really got a feel for living in the inner-city projects looking out there. It was a big bare grassy area with 4 white plastic chairs in the middle. NO landscaping at all.

The housekeeping staff I met in the hall were very nice and accommodating when we asked for extra towels and a sheet to cover the creepy 70's bedspread.

Internet access was $9.95/day and a fridge will set you back $5/day. There is free parking.

Overall, I would not recommend this hotel. At any price. Considering how disgusted and mad I was by the time I escaped the Millennium, I feel as though I was very fair with my review.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alphazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 733 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2011

The hallways looked as if they had not been vacuumed in months. Rooms were dated and filthy, but they had a $5 bottle of Fiji water to spruce the place up. And the used band-aid outside my room was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKELLERV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Got the rm for $55/night, thinking a 3 star hotel (3.5 according to priceline) would be better than the slightly more expensive holiday inn express down the road. . .boy was I wrong.

The hotel shows it's age, and is in desperate need of a renovation.

The room was clean enough, but felt old, and the bed was uncomfortable. The sheets were like sandpaper, and the in-room '60s style air conditioner was useless. I'm not a hotel snob, but if you're going to charge a premium for everything (breakfast, wifi, cocktails, late checkout), then you should really deliver at a higher quality.

The breakfast was probably the worst part of the stay. The $12.95 breakfast buffet consisted of microwaved eggs, hashbrowns, and various other inedible creations. That would have been tolerable, but the service at the table was awful, and the spaces on the buffet for bacon, grits, and sausage were empty for our entire meal. When we asked about the empty containers, the waiter said he'd be happy to get then refilled, and he didn't realize they were empty. 20 mins later they were still empty and our meal was over.

Spend the extra $6/night and get a chain hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcb9289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Don't let the negative reviews scare you. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff very friendlyand accomodating. No, this isn't a 5 star hotel, but you're not paying 5 star prices either. The location was great also. I travel a lot on business and this hotel was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathyh80567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Got in very late from the airport, the front desk was fine nothing special. The room was rather subpar, very very dated, the bed was uncomfortable, nothing great. The real killer was no cell phone reception (on VZW) that was a real turn off for me, especially traveling on business.

The plus side was the shuttle taking you to DukeMed, prompt, on time, excellent. Also shuttle service back to the airport was convenient if expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigEast55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

This place is definitely not worth the price you pay. Check-in is slow and inaccurate. The restaurant was awful: salad in the burger that was about to decompose, and a second order of it was not any fresher. No apologies on the restaurant's part.
Shower in the bathroom did not regulate properly between hot and cold water; you had to choose between one of the extremes. Don't go there unless you want to be close to Duke University, for that is about the only positive aspect of this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Old outdated and dank would be the words I would attach to this hotel. The hallways look so much like the hallways from The Shinning I was expecting to see two young girls standing in my path around every corner. Rooms are very outdated and bathrooms are not up to the par in this glorified Two 1/2 Star hotel. Who rates these places anyway??? Three 1/2 Stars my a~ss! A ten dollar up charge for slow internet? Now come on even McDonald's has free WiFiI these days. The staff was nice enough to move me to another room as the one they put me in was next to en elevator that groaned like an old man on his death bed. I guess next to the Motel Six it would be palatial but for a more upscale business traveler I would encourage people to avoid this little gem.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Can-I-Help-You
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.9 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
1.0 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#41 of 71 in Durham
89 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Durham

Address: 2800 Campus Walk Ave, Durham, NC 27705-4479
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: $90 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millennium Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Millennium Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing