We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Some Place Else If you can”
Review of Millennium Durham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Durham
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Hickory,NC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stay Some Place Else If you can”
Reviewed January 26, 2010

As the others have mentioned no cell service, old dated furniture and television. The first room I stayed in was just plain dirty. I was afraid to touch the knobs in the bathroom. Mold and some crud on the knob in the shower. The second room was much cleaner. Still trapped in the 1970's. Duke Hospital should be ashamed to recommend this place to patients and family members.Had electrical problem in one of the rooms probably due to age of wiring.In addition, was overcharged for room service. So check your bill if you stay there. In spite of all this the thing that bothered me the most was a car sitting in the edge of the parking lot ,that would occasionally circle the parking lot then go back to the corner, very creepy. I was sure I was going to be robbed at any moment. I didn't feel safe in any respect and again Duke should end it's association with this hotel until it cleans up its act and update this place.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiesNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    155
    132
    119
    94
See reviews for
203
79
81
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

I stayed here for a week while participating in a week-long program at Duke Diet & Fitness Center. The hotel is comfortable enough, but not special in any way. The biggest frustration was that it is difficult to get an AT&T cell phone signal in the hotel. When I asked if the hotel was intentionally blocking signals (so that guests are forced to use the expensive long-distance service in the room), I was told only that there is "a problem" with cell phone signals in the whole building. They graciously tried moving me to another room, but nothing helped. When I initially checked in, I was surprised to see so many people standing in front of the hotel smoking and talking on cell-phones. I later understood why. Cell phone signals were strong in front of the hotel, but not in it. These days, not having access to cell phone service is a major inconvenience, especially if you expect to do business during your stay. Also when I arrived there was a "poker convention" taking place and the hotel was bustling. When that crowd left the place seemed practically deserted--it was Thanksgiving week, after all. My other complaint is that the hotel is designed in a way that requires a long trek through the lobby, bar and restaurant to reach the single elevator to rooms on higher floors. I also learned that one whole wing is now leased as student housing.

My room was fine, if not special. It all seemed about time for a rehab. The hotel is near Duke Medical Center and related facilities, but unfortunately situated such that walking to and from is not recommended, as there are no sidewalks.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingmar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perkma, Management at Millennium Durham, responded to this review, December 29, 2009
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to the Duke Diet & Fitness Center. We can certainly understand your frustration with the inability to get a strong signal for cell phone service. Please be assured that the hotel in no way would ever intentionally or otherwise block signals to force our guests to use long distance service in the guestroom. The number of persons standing outside the front of the building as you mentioned was due to the fact that the hotel is a now a non-smoking environment and that area is now one of the designated smoking areas for the hotel. As for the walk to get to the elevators, we have several card key access entrances to the building that are very close to the elevators that make it more convenient to park or be dropped off by our shuttle near the elevators.
We certainly do appreciate your taking the time to express your comments regarding your recent stay with us and we do look forward to you staying with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

We got the Picasso package which was $100 per night - with $100 per night food credit! We kept inviting our relatives over to eat because we couldn't use it all ourselves. It was as if we had either the food or the hotel for free!

The pool area was nice, although one time the hot tub was not all that clean.

There were two workout areas, too. Check them for deals like this - that one was unbeatable!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaMusictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Hotel was in a good location very close to Duke University and Hospital.... but the inside of the hotel is dated and musty. I would NOT chose this for a vacation or wedding hotel . It may be ok for a business stay if you need the location. For me: I would not stay here again. (until I see that it is totally renovated!!)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

The outside looks great . Go to my room, it is large . Bed is neat . It has the hotel smell for 3 stars hotel . A few night is not bad . Free wireless internet . NO free breakfast . The hotel is very close to Duke and close to highways . For the standard rate $143 a night , I prefer to stay home .

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pthang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2009

This hotel fails to meet current minimum hotel standards: lack of basic complimentary breakfast; outdated decor, low-quality bath amenities, marginally clean interior; poor placement of fitness area in the same area as indoor pool; smoky rooms/hallways; lack of complimentary toothpaste/toiletries (even lower-class motels have these items); had to wait over 45min for shuttle pickup (called multiple times -- rude/surly phone response, unacceptable service!!!); food prices too high; poor parking security (colleague's car window smashed and items stolen while parked in front of the hotel).
Overall grade: D+
Avoid the Millennium; stay in the Washington Duke Inn for the same price, but get a better value. Decent proximity to Duke University, but poor shuttle service decreases value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsaTnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

This older property is located in a so-so area on the western outskirts of town. As other reviews have noted, there is little to no cellphone service in the rooms, but this was really the only problem. The hotel is showing its age: the carpeting in the stairwells needs replacing, the HVAC is noisy, and the interior courtyard looked pretty scruffy. Still, for the $59 that I paid (before taxes), it was fine. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, and the check-in and check-out were quick.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.9 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
1.0 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#40 of 71 in Durham
89 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Durham

Property: Millennium Durham
Address: 2800 Campus Walk Ave, Durham, NC 27705-4479
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Millennium Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Millennium Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing