We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome.”
Review of Millennium Durham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Durham
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Durham
1 review
“Awesome.”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The staff at the Millennium is fantastic. I am very thankful to Teddy Terezis who is the Bell Captain and shuttled me everywhere. His help, kindness and knowledge are remarkable. Thank you Teddy!!! You go above and beyond to help people and these days that is hard to find except at DUKE and The MILLENNIUM.

Respectfully and Thankfully,
Elizabeth Smith

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elismi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    155
    132
    119
    94
See reviews for
204
79
81
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great location very close to Duke Medical Center great to have shuttle service anytime for my family to get anything they need. The only negative about the hotel cell phones do not work inside at all at least Verizon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandMan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

just love this place, everyone was fantastic, the shuttle service was great....Ratechia was just the best help to me and my family. Great location to Duke hospital and plenty of location to travel to for food and shopping. all of the shuttle drivers were very experianced and did a great job, not only taking us to all appointment at the clicics and hospital but to many other aresw close to the hotel.... thanks for everything

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife has had several orthopedic procedures in recent years. Although we live locally, we always spend a few days at the Millenium so she can recover from her surgeries in comfort. It's easy to get reservations, and the front desk people are always helpful in ensuring we get a room following her hospital discharge and before the official check-in time. Considering the elegant ambiance of the hotel, the rates are very reasonable. The in-hotel Bel Gusto restaurant and the accompanying room service are just fine, with reasonable prices. The Millenium's proximity to Duke Medical Center make it a great choice for patients and their families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I reserved seven rooms at the Millennium Hotel in Durham, North Carolina. We had a group of tennis players participating in a state tennis tournament. From the reservation process to the check in to the check out, everything was handled smoothly and professionally. Everyone who helped us there was friendly and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and effortless. The hotel is lovely, very well situated and comfortable, but the staff make it a very special hotel. Phillip and Jacquelin, among others, were very helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico now (lived in Jamaica and Trinidad)
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a family reunion and the Millenium was our host hotel. The rooms are clean and roomy, the pool is nice and the lobby/lounge area is very attractive. The breakfast buffet was okay.

Here are the things I didn't like and compare unfavorably - to me - with other similar hotels. The front desk was very slow and unresponsive. After acknowledging us, the desk agent continued to answer phone calls and take care of their business before ours. It took way too long to get help and she wasn't very friendly when she finally attended to us.

We couldn't make a local call from our room without going through the main desk, because there is an extra charge - even for local calls. Everything seemed to cost extra. There is no free shuttle from the airport. A water bottle in the room had a $5 price tag on it. Wi-Fi in the room costs extra, too.

In the evening, we went down to the lounge to get a piece of chocolate bomb cake (which was excellent), but the only person serving the entire restaurant/lounge area was the bartender, so it took awhile.

Coffee was nowhere to be found at the breakfast buffet. We asked a waiter, who said he'd go get it for us, and never came back. Found another waiter, who also disappeared and never came back. It was very difficult to get service at our tables. Why would there not be thermoses of coffee for self-serve next to the buffet? There were thermoses in the lobby, but they were empty.

Our local family contact made a number of calls ahead of time to set up a brunch for our family on Sunday, our last day together. However when we arrived, we were directed to a small private room with not enough tables or chairs for our group, and the table cloths were stained. The hotel contact who had worked with us was not there and the waitress waiting on us was unorganized. After repeatedly asking for coffee, water, juice, silverware, etc., we ended up going out into the main restaurant to fetch cups, silverwear, chairs, etc. ourselves. Those who ordered off the menu had a long wait, while some of us just went to the buffet. I don't know why it seemed to be such a complicated order for the staff to handle.

The tables should have been clean, set and ready for us, as there supposedly had been prior planning for this event. There should have been pitchers of water, juice and coffee available for us when we arrived.

I like the location and the look of the hotel. However I'd shop around if I stay in that area again. It shouldn't be a chore to get service (and I don't like to pay extra for amenities that are free in other hotels). I was especially disappointed by the poor planning and arrangements for our family brunch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Upon arriving I found myself in a valley of smiles from the very first person I met, Philip. He was very helpful and his personality made me feel very welcome and satisfied with my choice of hotels. He gave me great recommedations for surrounding amenities and unlike alot of front desk personnel, clearly showed that he took pride in his job and enjoyed assisting others. I fully enjoyed my stay at this hotel, but my warmest congratulations to the hotel for their choice of personnel. They know how to really make you feel at home, and if you need anything it is like asking a family member. Congratulations from the heart, you were fantastic.

Room Tip: Front Desk Supervisor ***** Five Stars
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katheryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM S, Director of Sales at Millennium Durham, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Kathryn H, thank you for staying with us during your visits to Durham and thank you for your recognition of Philip. We are delighted to have him working with us on our front desk. He is an outstanding hospitality professional. Hopefully, we’ll have the opportunity to be your hosts on a future visit to Durham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.9 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
1.0 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
0.9 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#40 of 71 in Durham
89 reviews
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Durham

Property: Millennium Durham
Address: 2800 Campus Walk Ave, Durham, NC 27705-4479
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Millennium Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Millennium Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing